Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Video Card Overclocking

  1. #1
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Running a p4 200gh 512ram ddr pc2100 ATI 9700 pro. Tryed o/c with rage 3d . I can't see a big change really. I have the newest drivers. ect. Only difference was my refresh rate on my monitor.Games look fine can play ones I couldn't before tho But im missing something? Running at core 351 .oo mhz, memory 321.75mhz . Should I just go for broke? and o/'c till I can see a problem? MOTHERBOARD 35c CPU 45C TEMPS
    I had 64mg video on board before looked good to me

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    keep overclocking little amount then go into a game for a while and see if you get artifacting (little dots and lines coming off of stuff on the screen). once that happens you know youve goten to the limit so just go back down a few mhz until it runs fine.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Oh ok thanks Rossco have tryed bench marks but it's all chinese to me B)

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    RGX's Avatar Unstoppable
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,072
    What were you trying to run that a 9700 pro couldnt handle? Halo in 1600x1200, 6XAAF?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Originally posted by RGX@21 February 2004 - 16:13
    What were you trying to run that a 9700 pro couldnt handle? Halo in 1600x1200, 6XAAF? 
    I didn't say I couldn't handle anything I was just wondering that I cant really see a difference in games that I could play before on my old onboard 64 mg thats all. I was was just curious .I know I can play more games now.I have being playing with options and such just thought I was missing something



    Mabey I expect more? I don't know, just asking an opion

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by peat moss+21 February 2004 - 19:23--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (peat moss @ 21 February 2004 - 19:23)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-RGX@21 February 2004 - 16:13
    What were you trying to run that a 9700 pro couldnt handle? Halo in 1600x1200, 6XAAF?*
    I didn&#39;t say I couldn&#39;t handle anything I was just wondering that I cant really see a difference in games that I could play before on my old onboard 64 mg thats all. I was was just curious .I know I can play more games now.I have being playing with options and such just thought I was missing something



    Mabey I expect more? I don&#39;t know, just asking an opion [/b][/quote]
    what games are you playing? next time you go to play something go into the display options and turn everyhting up to the highest details possible, make sure aa and af are up to full, and use a realy high resolution, somehting like 1024x768 or higher.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    I&#39;m playing at 1024x768 mabye its fine I was expecting more? My little ones are happy tho. I think I&#39;m just new and was expecting more &#33; Thank you Rossco

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    If it plays fine with stock settings I wouldn&#39;t clock it at all then.
    Why fix what ain&#39;t broken?
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    What were you expecting? The only diff from one card to another is how many FPS it can put out really. The better the card the more FPS it will have and can also handle more filtering to make it look better. If you get a really good card its not gona shoot money outa your screen every once in a while. If games you played on your 64MB card work the same on the 9700Pro, the games probobly arent graphicly demanding. Run some benchmarks and you will see a BIG difference lol.
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@21 February 2004 - 17:56
    If you get a really good card its not gona shoot money outa your screen every once in a while.
    Man, I couldn&#39;t have said it better myself... B)

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •