Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Windows 2000 Boot Up

  1. #1
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    Is there any way to make the Windows 2000 boot up faster? It takes like 5 min+ to boot up
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    buy a faster computer or cut down the stuff that you boot.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3,597
    disable your firewall before you reboot. It'll configure connections faster then.

    Go through run/services.msc and disable anything you don't really need.

    Kill any licence servers you find in there.

    get rid of any theme crap.

    run chkdsk /f /r all the way and reboot.

    Or,

    reinstall with less crap.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Kei the only things I have at start up are zonealarm .norton and my system tray shaved 30 sec of boot time. My xp box boots in 20 seconds . Then if I need a program I start from start folder. I use system mechanic tho to help me


    oh my wife likes web shots so thats running too

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    No when I boot up I mean like before the log in screen like

    "system is starting up"
    "applying security patch" etc.
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    enoughfakefiles's Avatar Ad ministrator
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    I'm an Even Steven with a
    Posts
    10,491
    Have you done a windows update.????

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by Keikan@27 February 2004 - 17:44
    No when I boot up I mean like before the log in screen like

    "system is starting up"
    "applying security patch" etc.
    its just the computer. its got an old, but not too badly overclocked, processor. not too much ram and its runing at a slow speed. the hard drive is probably a low rpm with little cache and running at only ata33 or maybe 66 if ur lucky.

    upgrading is the best idea to improve boot time.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    hd is at 5400rpm

    I'm thinking of getting back another stick of 64mb ram so I can have 256mb is that even gonna help?

    Ya it's an ok overclock if I had pc133 ram then I can make it 532mhz
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •