Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Thread: Guys I Just Upgraded My Mobo And Graphic Card

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,066
    OK now im officially confused....

    my athlon xp 2000+, before i upgraded, ran at 1600GHz.....

    but now after installing a new gigabyte mobo, and radeon 9600xt.... its tells me that it is running at 1.2GHz


    i am going to cry if i find out that iv fucked up something... ...

    lol. what is going on ?

    is this fixable? why has it changed???

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    your front side bus is running at 200mhz instead of 266.

    edit: The right FSB and multiplier: 133*12.5=1662.5mhz
    The wrong FSB and multiplier: 100*12.5=1250mhz...

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    You need to change your FSB to 133MHz.

    The multiplier for your chip is 12
    Your current FSB must be 100MHz
    100MHz x 12 = 1200MHz
    133MHz x 12 = 1600MHz

    A simple bios change.

    Edit: correction, I mean base frequency not FSB.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,066
    sorry im a bit of a newb when it comes to fsb...

    can you tell me if i can change this? if so, how?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,066
    Originally posted by lynx@24 February 2004 - 14:56
    You need to change your FSB to 133MHz.

    The multiplier for your chip is 12
    Your current FSB must be 100MHz
    100MHz x 12 = 1200MHz
    133MHz x 12 = 1600MHz

    A simple bios change.
    oh ok cheerz... ill have a look now

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by dray_02@23 February 2004 - 21:56
    sorry im a bit of a newb when it comes to fsb...

    can you tell me if i can change this? if so, how?
    there will be the option in the bios somewher to change the front side bus (fsb) and multiplier although u only do the front side bus.

    If that doesnt work there might be a jumper on the board somewhere but its usually done in teh bios now.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    It's in your BIOS settings in "Advanced Chipset Features."

    Set the FSB Frequency to: 133

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,066
    Originally posted by Virtualbody1234@24 February 2004 - 14:59
    It's in your BIOS settings in "Advanced Chipset Features."
    ok thanks...

    ill do it now and ill tell ya the results....
    p.s can i put the fsb on the highest setting??? safely..
    or is there no point?

    say 400mhz

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    No! 400 is too high for that CPU.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    NO WHOA!! NOOO haha

    Just find a setting that says 100Mhz. Change that to 133Mhz and look for something that says Front Side Bus by it.

    You sent me a that PM about helping you.

    Download aim and get a name..and ill talk to you on there when you get your 2500XP...no need in bringing up another thread on here lol
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •