Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Dual Cpu Board

  1. #1
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Do dual CPU boards just come in server forms or what? Why cant they just make like a regular nForce 2 board, that uses regular DDR Ram, but have 2 sockets in it and let us put TWO CPUs in them? Do they exist or is it just for servers? I wish they would make some for regular chips..
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Big Bucks!

    Small image but...
    Click

    Just search for dual-processor motherboard
    Need a cheap/easy way of modding your xbox? Check this out.


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    North-east england UK
    Posts
    2,661
    They are very expensive and not really worth it. Best wait and hopefully they might come down in price

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    dual athlon 64 fx *drools*

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Lick My Lovepump
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    15
    Posts
    2,698
    Originally posted by ROSSCO_2004@6 March 2004 - 18:04
    dual athlon 64 fx *drools*
    You have to get specialised dual CPUs too don't you?

    If not we'd see many more dual processor setups.


    Dual Athlon FX, thats basically Opteron...

    EDIT: I've got a dual CPU motherboard by the way.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    *Grunt*
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newcastle, United Kingdom
    Posts
    867
    Unfortunatly you cant realy feel the difference. They're only effective for programs that have been written to support them, its the way the motherboards are set up they connect to 2 different gateways so in effect it like 2 cars running at 30mph each, but that doesnt make it 60

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Lick My Lovepump
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    15
    Posts
    2,698
    Originally posted by Neo 721@6 March 2004 - 18:26
    Unfortunatly you cant realy feel the difference. They're only effective for programs that have been written to support them, its the way the motherboards are set up they connect to 2 different gateways so in effect it like 2 cars running at 30mph each, but that doesnt make it 60
    You can multi-task more effectively though, and I think thats probably mainly the point.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    *Grunt*
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newcastle, United Kingdom
    Posts
    867
    Thats true applications like photoshop are well suited to this.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by Neo 721@6 March 2004 - 13:26
    Unfortunatly you cant realy feel the difference. They're only effective for programs that have been written to support them, its the way the motherboards are set up they connect to 2 different gateways so in effect it like 2 cars running at 30mph each, but that doesnt make it 60
    in windows xp pro (not sure about other os's) you can choose which cpu runs which kind of apps right? im pretty sure you can because i read somewhere that intels hyperthreaded cpu's act like 2 cpu's and you can choose to have certain work run on the hyperthreading and have games run on the real cpu.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    *Grunt*
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Newcastle, United Kingdom
    Posts
    867
    Thats the trouble, its realy just evening the tasks out which in turn is more effective for demanding applications but not gaming and performance issues

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •