Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Help With Mandrake Install

  1. #1
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    just wentto install mandrake 10rc1 and after it partitioned and formated my disk it came up could not find kernel, and a couple of other things and i cant do anything. can anyone help?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Try booting from the install cd and type in: linux rescue at the boot prompt. That may or may not give you a shell, if it does then try this:

    /sbin/mkbootdisk -2.x.x. Where x is the version fo your kernel. To find the version of your current kernel type in uname -v It will by default use /dev/fd0 (floppy) to write the boot image to. Then exit from the shell and try booting from the floppy.

    The boot prompt from the cd will look like this of course:

    Code:
    boot:
    And what "other things" are you referring to? Please be more specific.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    thsi is my first linux install so there is no previous install.

    i just boot using the graphical install. with no other options.

    and when using the install interface after it formats the partitions and is baout to go onto installing it comes up could not find kernel, and a list of things to do with that.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by Livy@9 March 2004 - 15:42
    thsi is my first linux install so there is no previous install.

    i just boot using the graphical install. with no other options.

    and when using the install interface after it formats the partitions and is baout to go onto installing it comes up could not find kernel, and a list of things to do with that.
    Your first step should be a linux rescue

    But since there is nothing of significance on it I would just reinstall if I were you.

    And take in mind your trying to use a beta.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    thats\what im trying to do ands thats when it comes up the kernel error.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by Livy@9 March 2004 - 15:56
    thats\what im trying to do ands thats when it comes up the kernel error.
    What kernel are you getting the error with?

    The one on your install disk or the one from a finished installation?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    from the install disk, when im trying to install it.

    the actual error is Internal Error: no kernel availabile.
    then MDK: and some thing to do with the error, cant remember anything of it.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Sounds like corrupted media. You can try burning another, or you can try installing 9.2 and waiting until 10 comes out of beta and then upgrade.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    ill just start downloading 9.2 the now then. and start install again tommorow night

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by Livy@9 March 2004 - 16:30
      ill just start downloading 9.2 the now then. and start install again tommorow night
    sorry Hope it works out for ya

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •