Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Want To Format (i) Drive

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    leeds england
    Posts
    29
    Hi all
    have 2 40 gig h/drives c on one drive f&i on other
    want to format i to use for games .
    Problem is almost everything i have on c drive i have on others ,i did not put them on like windows temp internet desktop and such.

    Can i format without effecting c or f or will it take them all off.

    win xp
    512 ddr
    asus mobo
    2 40 gig h/d
    thanks Peter

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    um yes if c drive is where your windows lives you can, just make sure you dont have any programs installed on I drive , or when you format it you will have to reinstall that software

    just right click on I drive in my comp and choose format

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    leeds england
    Posts
    29
    Hi DELPHIN 460
    how the hell does it get there ,every time i add something to c drive it puts it on f and i .
    So i have to delete them off f and i to free up space as i cant remove them with add remove or it will take em out of c .

    I hope deleting them from f wont cause probs as i dont want to format f
    cheers Peter

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350


    you make it REALLY hard to understand your problem, and yes, if you format the I: drive it shouldnt effect your C: drive, unless you have stuff linked (such as your documents and settings on the I: drive).......... installed apps you can better uninstall before formatting, cause it will leave your registry a mess if you dont.........
    great FTP site for awesome quality video clips
    yeah, you have to sign up, but its worth it

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    leeds england
    Posts
    29
    Hi Storm
    i am sorry but i find it hard for me to understand.
    what i tried to say was in c drive is such as documents and settings,should this be in f drive and i drive as well
    sorry if it is still un-understandable
    cheers for your help anyhow Peter

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    haha, thats ok...........

    as long as all you windows stuff is NOT on the I: drive, you can go ahead.....

    the worst that can happen in this case is that you will have to re-install some programs you have installed on the I: drive

    windows will continue to function normally..........
    great FTP site for awesome quality video clips
    yeah, you have to sign up, but its worth it

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    if im reading this right you have doc and settings on all the drives?

    hmm, now that is strange, im nott sure why that would be

    you comp isnt a raid system is it, sure sounds weird

    but if f and i are a seperate drive then it should be ok, but it does sound like your comp is a bit screwed up if thats happening

    perhaps a full format and reinstall of windows might fix it all up for you

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    leeds england
    Posts
    29
    Hi delphin and storm
    thanks for your help,yes mobo has RAID on it but i made a point when i read manual to have jumper set to not double up programmes.
    I did not mention raid on purpose so you would not say (oh thats why) but i knew it was not enabled.

    It has been like this all year and it just takes up space for nothing.

    But thanks to both of you Peter
    PS i think i will delete all double progs and when i have time i will format and reinstall.cheers

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •