Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Notebooks No Os

  1. #1
    okay if you format a notebook... and install a operation system onto it would you need all the drivers and such like you do in a desktop?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    short answer, yes.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    What OS were you wanting to install?
    What notebook do you want to install it on?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    some laptops have special features such as extra keys on teh keyboard, lcd screens, hardware monitoring, fan speed control, power saving etc. which may be activated by software ad you might not be able to get the drivers for those things, so generally laptop formatting is not recomended. but it can be done.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Some laptop's I'v worked on come with a system restore partion . Do to the fact it may not have an optional floppy drive . Usually F: see if you have one installed on your's ,mabey helpful?

    IBM Think pad is one that comes to mind. Theirs is called Easy restore I think.You can format c: then install O/S then run program from f: drive to install software and drivers.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    well i might buy a notebook in china in a few months since my father wants to take me there... n i might want to format their windows n install xp on it... since they might have a chiniese verison and i want an english one

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Livy's Avatar Simpleton
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,052
    key layout and things may be different, also things liek modems may be different for different phone systems.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    ya i wouldnt buy a laptop from another country, i wouldnt buy a desktop either. they might have different kinds of parts which wont work where u live. power supply voltage is one.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    ahh tru tru... but most things do come from there too lol... naw keyboard is same... i went there in 2000... there is a different power plug there tho.... but my mom's friend got a toshiba there and brought it bac here so i dunno...

    -- edit
    actually i just remembered parts and stuff are all the same lol since i bought a CDRW there in 2000.... 8x4x32x ACER lol... for like 100 china money which is like $15 here lol...

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by Soul814@19 March 2004 - 21:39
    ahh tru tru... but most things do come from there too lol... naw keyboard is same... i went there in 2000... there is a different power plug there tho.... but my mom's friend got a toshiba there and brought it bac here so i dunno...

    -- edit
    actually i just remembered parts and stuff are all the same lol since i bought a CDRW there in 2000.... 8x4x32x ACER lol... for like 100 china money which is like $15 here lol...
    100 china money lol

    btw, the stuff made in china is made by US, canadian, or uk companies which make the stuff to work in US, canada, or UK.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •