Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Dos Box

  1. #1
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    I'm thinking of making a dos box to "relive the good ol days" and I gota few questions before making it

    1. Do you have to install dos 6.22 on a hard drive? If you ask me I'd say no because I have tried only running the floppy and then swapping floppies to run programs

    2. Do you need a processer to run dos 6.22?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    You need a processor.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    why would you need a separate computer just to run DOS? sounds like a waste of time. you can emulate it in Win2000/XP with DOSBox, VirtualPC, VMWare, etc.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    You don't need a hard drive.

    Win95 and Win98 boot disks are dos 7. If you follow the example of a Win98 boot disk you can create compressed libraries and unpack the contents into a ramdrive. It takes a little longer to start up while you load them, but that way you don't need to keep swapping disks for different progs.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    I know i'll get a really cheap laptop with like a pentium 1 and 8mb of ram or something
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    Originally posted by Keikan@23 March 2004 - 06:34
    I'm thinking of making a dos box to "relive the good ol days" and I gota few questions before making it

    1. Do you have to install dos 6.22 on a hard drive? If you ask me I'd say no because I have tried only running the floppy and then swapping floppies to run programs

    2. Do you need a processer to run dos 6.22?
    lol, a ghetto style com

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Originally posted by Keikan@23 March 2004 - 18:46
    I know i'll get a really cheap laptop with like a pentium 1 and 8mb of ram or something
    Wow! That's way more than needed. You could run Windows 3.1 on that.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    probably even 3.11 if i remember right. to run DOS only, you could get away with a 386...my first pc was a 386 sx 25, which ran dos

    ahh, what it was to run @ 25MHz
    <insert signature here>

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    North-east england UK
    Posts
    2,661
    thank god I wasn&#39;t using computers at 25MHz

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    Originally posted by bulio+23 March 2004 - 19:01--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (bulio @ 23 March 2004 - 19:01)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Keikan@23 March 2004 - 06:34
    I&#39;m thinking of making a dos box to "relive the good ol days" and I gota few questions before making it

    1. Do you have to install dos 6.22 on a hard drive? If you ask me I&#39;d say no because I have tried only running the floppy and then swapping floppies to run programs

    2. Do you need a processer to run dos 6.22?
    lol, a ghetto style com [/b][/quote]
    ya I was thinking to hold it all in a cardboard box
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •