Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Mandrake

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    North-east england UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Ok, I downloaded mandrake and want to attempt to use it on my pc, anyone got any advice for me ( keeping in mind im a total noob to linux ).

    thanks

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    North-east england UK
    Posts
    2,661
    am I right in thinking it only removes all the data from the partition it is installed to?


    Image Resized
    [img]http://server6.uploadit.org/files/Zeromarius-linuxinstall.jpg' width='200' height='120' border='0' alt='click for full size view'>

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    Ok, did you set up a parition via windows? are you installing mandrake to the paritioned section? Is the paritioned section reformated? If you answer yes to all these questions, then it is ok to reboot

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    North-east england UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Originally posted by bulio@23 March 2004 - 21:50
    Ok, did you set up a parition via windows? are you installing mandrake to the paritioned section? Is the paritioned section reformated? If you answer yes to all these questions, then it is ok to reboot
    partitioned a while back, dont know how to install it to a partition (maybe that is after i restart it) and i am going to partition it now


    thanks

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    np, as my favorite saying goes "that's what i'm here for"

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    North-east england UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Originally posted by bulio@23 March 2004 - 22:13
    np, as my favorite saying goes "that's what i'm here for"
    good, I'll have plenty more questions for you guys when I get it installed

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    I never seen a Mandrake install look like that. Must be that crappy Community 10 beta.

    You will probably run into problems..........or not.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    Originally posted by Marius24+23 March 2004 - 23:35--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Marius24 @ 23 March 2004 - 23:35)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-bulio@23 March 2004 - 22:13
    np, as my favorite saying goes "that&#39;s what i&#39;m here for" &nbsp;
    good, I&#39;ll have plenty more questions for you guys when I get it installed [/b][/quote]
    lol i&#39;ll be ready for em, just lemee know if you installed it correctly

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    North-east england UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Originally posted by shn@23 March 2004 - 22:37
    I never seen a Mandrake install look like that. Must be that crappy Community 10 beta.

    You will probably run into problems..........or not.
    i dont want to install a beta OS

    i might try 9.1 see if that looks better B)

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    North-east england UK
    Posts
    2,661
    ok i installed mandrake version 10. I had no problems and got it all up and running .

    I just need to find out how use the browser and to config my internet settings on it. Anyone know of a manual type thing for mandrake?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •