Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Installed Slackware 9.1 :)

  1. #1
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    Been always wondering how it runs, Teh Linux i mean.

    Well, yeaterday as i was waiting teh windows to boot for eons as
    and I was browsing Teh Linux section and decided to go for Linux.

    There's so many versions out there, from RedHat etc.
    There's no real point why I got Slackware, just thought its a place to start atleast.

    Downed the ISO's from suprnova and first i had to try the LiveCD, it
    was pretty neat to watch it to boot , booted to DOS with Win98SE bootdisk
    and went from there.
    After about 15 mins' of fiddling i just knew i gotta get this on the HD.

    Did the partitions and install, not too much trouble or maybe i just got lucky, go figure.

    So, as a n00b to Linux, you can expect me asking some hella-stoopid questions
    about Linux in here.
    Consider this as a official warning.

    Ofcourse, i've seen the Most Excellent Links you ppl been posting,
    particularly LSA's link to installing the Slackware was a good help.
    Other's looks nice too, gotta go through them all.

    Only thing what kinda scares me is that there's so much stuff to learn, to read and
    experience. Most of the words dont "ring'a'bell" at all.
    Plus old DOS/Windows way of thinking hangs hard on me.

    But im looking forward using linux, cant throw away XP alltogether as i still use
    it as an OS for making music, I dont know if there's any good Apps like
    Cubase SX made to run in Linux platform and i suspect that if there is,
    it would take a month or two to get it running.

    Well, given time, who knows what might happen?

    Gotta get the SoulSeek runnin' now, also Torrents etc...

    Cheers:
    -GS-
    Spoiler: Show

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    4play's Avatar knob jockey
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    London
    Age
    35
    Posts
    5,530
    nice to see you here GS there are a few nice music creation apps for linux just having a look through my bookmarks for a few.

    nice to see the guides are useful

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    908
    Good job, Slinger

    Wish I had slack.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Great to hear.

    May I ask what desktop you may be using?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    All i did was run the install pretty much default,

    Desktop is KDE, at the moment.

    Installed new drivers for me nVidia GeForce2, that went pretty well too.
    or so i suspect, ha ha ha, no, no problems on that as im aware of.

    Next "To Do" in the list is Teh Audio, it seems messed up somehow,
    as i ran the LiveCD last night, there was no problems for me to see all the
    HD partitions in my box and play mp3's from just about anywhere,
    and now when Log In to the KDE i get the error message:

    device/dev/dsp cant be opened (No such
      device)

    The sound server will continue, using the null output device
    So, what im about to do is look for some info about how Audio works on Linux
    and take it from there, probably there aint drivers installed, or the right drivers atleast.
    Got audio on MoBo, got VIA AC'97 Audio Controller on the XP working just fine,
    MoBo is MSI KT7-Pro, Chipset is VIA VT8363(A) Apollo KT133(A)

    Any tips for me? I'd appresiate it a lot as i could get the Linux Box runnin
    and start really Experimenting the OS, he he

    Damn, and im hungry too
    Off to the shop to get some food, then back to Linux...

    Spoiler: Show

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    i'm gonna get slackware 9.1 on my 60 gog hd, but i think i'm gonna give linux around a 20 gig maybe 30 gig parition. I am gonna use the new kde workstation. Now I need some help:

    If i set up in the bios to boot from my c: drive, then it will boot up windows right? then if I choose the e: drive, will it boot up linux?

    thx in adv

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by Guitar-Slinger@25 March 2004 - 12:34
    All i did was run the install pretty much default,

    Desktop is KDE,  at the moment.

    Installed new drivers for me nVidia GeForce2, that went pretty well too.
    or so i suspect, ha ha ha,  no, no problems on that as im aware of.

    Next "To Do" in the list is Teh Audio, it seems messed up somehow,
    as i ran the LiveCD last night, there was no problems for me to see all the
    HD partitions in my box and play mp3's from just about anywhere,
    and now when Log In to the KDE i get the error message:

     
    device/dev/dsp cant be opened (No such
    * device)

    The sound server will continue, using the null output device
    So, what im about to do is look for some info about how Audio works on Linux
    and take it from there, probably there aint drivers installed, or the right drivers atleast.
    Got audio on MoBo, got VIA AC'97 Audio Controller on the XP working just fine,
    MoBo is MSI KT7-Pro, Chipset is VIA VT8363(A) Apollo KT133(A)

    Any tips for me? I'd appresiate it a lot as i could get the Linux Box runnin
    and start really Experimenting the OS, he he

    Damn, and im hungry too
    Off to the shop to get some food, then back to Linux...



    Not using slackware but..............................

    Use alsamixer. Type it in from the terminal. Your probably using alsa or aRts for your sound server, either way KDE is pretty good with thoose issues. Just take a look around the Desktop menus.

    My alsamixer only runs from the terminal. If this was Windows I would have to use an AC'97 driver, but for some reason in LInux I use another.

    Your card may not be on /dev/dsp. Try modprobe.

    And when ya do get it working, don't forget to add yourself to the "audio" group so you have permission to use the device.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    what about my question

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    shn's Avatar 3μ|\|(7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,585
    Originally posted by bulio@25 March 2004 - 13:24
    what about my question
    depends on the bootloader. If your using grub or lilo.

    you'll have to add the entries to the bootloader yourself.

    gentoo has great documentation on installing and configuring bootloaders.

    Use that chapter for slackware

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    Originally posted by shn+25 March 2004 - 19:29--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (shn @ 25 March 2004 - 19:29)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-bulio@25 March 2004 - 13:24
    what about my question
    depends on the bootloader. If your using grub or lilo.

    you&#39;ll have to add the entries to the bootloader yourself.

    gentoo has great documentation on installing and configuring bootloaders.

    Use that chapter for slackware [/b][/quote]
    ok, thx i&#39;ll check em out

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •