Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Winxp Pro Freezes On Start Up Screen

  1. #1
    i've just got a new 80gb baracuda seagate drive i've installed winxp Pro on it and it booted up the first time after install but now every time it starts up it freezes on the winxp start up screen, it seems the freeze consides with the keyboard check.

    Im loging on now using safe mode with networking, but normal mode just freezes.

    I've tried the last working config option and unplugging the keyboard but it makes no diffrence

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    is the xp yours or did you download it?

    Try a clean install and see if that works out

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Originally posted by bulio@27 March 2004 - 23:47
    is the xp yours or did you download it?

    Try a clean install and see if that works out
    That doesnt matter as i have installed it plenty of times with no probs...

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    try going back through a system restore point

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    ok then obviously its a hardware issue with the h/d

    are you sure you have the pin setup correct on the back of the h/d

    eg master slave


    are you still running the old drive as well

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    481
    yo i had the same prob it was frezzin up on the xp bootup screen for 3 months i just lived with it. i tryed everything. then when i took out my slave and changed my master to a different hd and did a reinstal everything worked fine. so i think it might be that your cable's my not be connected properly.

    its worth a try

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    I guess try reconnecting everything

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    try doing either another clean install or a repair install. if that doesnt work i guess try switching ide cables around or something good luck.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    South Surrey, BC, Canada
    Posts
    245
    I had the exact same problem! I bought a legit version of XP Pro, and it worked fine after that. For some reason the d/led copies didn't work.

    Fukin bootleggers! Can't they do it properly!!!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Well i found out it was my soundcard (creative live value), took it out but now i've got no sound tryed to reinstall but my computer doesnt even detect it now, might have to use the intergrated card

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •