Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Tv-out On An Fx5200

  1. #1
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    I have a Geforce 5200 and I have it set out to have a TV as the secondary display.

    I set the card to do "clone" so it clones whatever is on my moniter to my Tv screen.

    My problem is that the Tv screen will show everything that my moniter shows with the exception of movies. Whenever I try to play movies, they show up on the moniter and not the Tv (the tv just shows black where the movie is)

    Now, the thing is that this used to work not too long ago (maybe a month) or so, so I'm figuring it was the drivers.

    I downloaded the latest drivers from the nvidia website, but I don't think those are what is causing this.

    I remmebr installing a windows driver update (windowsupdate.com)

    Successful Friday, April 09, 2004 NVIDIA Corporation multimedia software update released on March 26 2004. Web site
    Successful Thursday, April 01, 2004 NVIDIA Corporation multimedia software update released on March 03 2004. Web site
    Successful Thursday, April 01, 2004 Advanced Micro Devices processor software update released on December 17 2002. Web site
    So I think it might have started to happen when I downloaded the one on April 1. Today i tried downloading the next update to see if it corrected it but it didn't

    Is anyone else experienceing similar problems? Any advice?

    P.S. I've also tried rolling back my Geforce 5200 driver from [device manager] and that didn't work...

    [edit] - typos
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    Originally posted by lightshow@10 April 2004 - 03:42
    Whenever I try to play movies, they show up on the moniter and not the Tv (the tv just shows black where the movie is)
    sounds like you have an overlay problem........... like when you printscreen a movie, you get black........

    i wouldnt have any idea why your problem occurs though......... have you tried system restoring to a point before this problem occured???
    great FTP site for awesome quality video clips
    yeah, you have to sign up, but its worth it

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    what program are you using?

    when i had my comp downstairs on my tv (one up here doesnt have svideo ) i found that some programs wouldn't display the movie in full screen on my tv.

    But anyway, use windows media player to play the movies. You drag the movie over to the other screen while in window mode, then once its onto the tv screen fully you double click the movie area and it will change to full screen. and on teh monitor it will just show your desktop. I found this very useful for doing homework as i watched movies .

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lightshow's Avatar Asleep at the wheel
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Age
    32
    Posts
    924
    I've tried playing movies with a bunch of different media players:

    Windows Media Player

    Media Player Classic

    VLC (videolan)

    And they all have the same results.

    I havn't tried doing a system restore yet because I've been heavily involved with making a movie on my computer and I didn't want to risk it quite yet.

    O wait!

    I just tried changing my viewing mode from "clone"to vertical span, and it worked!


    That seems really strange that it wouldn't work in "clone" mode, seeing that it worked like that before. Hmm strange..

    Thanks for the help guys/girls!
    I miss the days of random nut '03
    Click for more activation options, then activate by telephone. Run the keygen.
    if I call them, aren't they going to get me? (you know, down there)

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by lightshow@9 April 2004 - 22:43
    I've tried playing movies with a bunch of different media players:

    Windows Media Player

    Media Player Classic

    VLC (videolan)

    And they all have the same results.

    I havn't tried doing a system restore yet because I've been heavily involved with making a movie on my computer and I didn't want to risk it quite yet.

    O wait!

    I just tried changing my viewing mode from "clone"to vertical span, and it worked!


    That seems really strange that it wouldn't work in "clone" mode, seeing that it worked like that before. Hmm strange..

    Thanks for the help guys/girls!
    hmm i have mine set to clone also...that was the defualt it was set to.

    i just went to display properties, then clicked settings at the top, made my desktop stretch onto the tv and i was done...also made them both 1024*768...if thats even makes a difference.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    poke around in your movie players' options and find the "hardware overlay" option. if it's enabled, try disabling it. if it's disabled, try enabling it.

    the hardware overlay uses the video card's built in features to display movies, which improves the system's performance a bit... but unless you have a really old computer (like a pentium 2 or k6-2) it shouldn't make much of a difference at all, in terms of performance or video quality.

    edit: nevermind. i see that you solved the problem.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Lick My Lovepump
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    15
    Posts
    2,698
    You're right brainiac, although some programs call it Hardware Acceleration.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    yes, true. anyway, my point was, that option can affect the computer's ability to display movies in clone mode.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •