Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Sygate Personal Firewall

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    173
    Hey guys

    Just downloaded ( ) Sygate Personal Firewall Pro 5.5 and was wondering - is there anyway to turn off the application protection thingy?

    Thanks guys

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    I use Sygate Pro. Please explain better.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    173
    yeah, sygate pro 5.5

    well, when i go to run a program such as msn or internet explorer it comes up its trying to access the network...

    I cant be bothered clicking ok for every program so is there any way to switch thi9s off? Ie, let the programs run freely without the firewall checkin them

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    No.

    You need to ensure the program is either allowed or not allowed to access the Internet. This is to prevent unauthorised access to your PC.

    Once you set these programs with either access / no access you'll never need to do this again, unless the program is updated changing the .exe file.

    Please remember to select 'Never Ask Again' or whatever it asks when it first comes up.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Yup, that's about the length and breadth of it - just create a new rule for each app.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,180
    I use sygate personal 5.5 -it's about the same minus the app thingy B)

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Ricey  Posted on 11 April 2004 - 09:42
      Hey guys

    Just downloaded ( ) Sygate Personal Firewall Pro 5.5 and was wondering - is there anyway to turn off the application protection thingy?

    Thanks guys

    Sorry but thats plainly idiotic. Might as well have no firewall!

    Just give every program that asks to access the net 1 time access or denial. Or check the little box on the lower left, making that decision (permission or denial) permanent.

    Sygate's the best.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    173
    Sorry but thats plainly idiotic. Might as well have no firewall!
    Hows it idiotic? I downloaded a firewall to make myself invisible on the internet and reduce the probability of being hacked - not to stop malicious programs thats what I have AVG and Norton for.

    Just been riced
    'Ave it

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Malicious programs eh? So how the f*ck are you going to update your AV or firewall on a regular basis may I ask? What about your spyware programs, because I'm sure you have one installed In fact, you wouldn't be able to load up IE, or whatever browser you use without allowing access.

    Think

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •