Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Can I...

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    173
    Hey,

    a while ago a downloaded a tutorial on how to change your ip address. I have since formattewd my hard drive and was wondering if anyone could assist me on this?

    Help needed quickly...
    thanks

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    ziggyjuarez's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Age
    28
    Posts
    25,160
    PEDO

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    vivitron 15's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    North East England, UK
    Posts
    1,772
    your IP is assigned to you through your ISP so contact them.

    of course there are many proxies out there which will route data through them before you download, but they are probably slower than your connection and will not necesarily be safe from people seeing what you dl.

    the other route is to try anonX, which is a mega-proxy for which you pay. they claim total anonimity but you should be sceptical of anything like this

    im not saying not to use them, but be careful with anything on the net
    <insert signature here>

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    Can&#39;t you just dial in again ?

    My ISP rotates IP addresses every 36 hours (ADSL) - maybe you should just try some patience ?

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Yet to be determined
    Posts
    1,076
    Somtimes you can unplug your modem and wait for about 12-36 hours and it will change your IP addy.

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,170
    Originally posted by ziggyjuarez@11 April 2004 - 16:52
    PEDO

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    173
    Can&#39;t you just dial in again ?

    My ISP rotates IP addresses every 36 hours (ADSL) - maybe you should just try some patience
    I have broadband so my IP is static



    PEDO
    LMAO - im 15


    Anyway...i KNOW i can change it - ive done it before...just wondering if ANYONE can assist me

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    Maybe reset your modem ?

    Google&#39;d this :

    1. Getting your IP range - Getting information about your ip range is not difficult, I recomend using Neo Trace on your own ip. But for our test just look at your ip address, say it&#39;s 24.193.110.13 you can definetly use the ip&#39;s found between 24.193.110.1 [new ip] 24.193.110.255, dont use x.x.x.1 or x.x.x.255. To find your ip simply open a dos/command prompt window and type ipconfig at the prompt, look for "IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : x.x.x.x".


    2. Subnet Mask, Default Gateway, DHCP Server - These are very easy to find, just open a dos/command prompt window and type &#39;ipconfig /all&#39; without the &#39; &#39;. You should see something like this:
    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : My Computer Name Here
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : xxxx.xx.x
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR FA310TX Fast Ethernet Adapter (NGRPCI)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : XX-XX-XX-XX-XX-XX
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.xxx.xxx.xx
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 24.xxx.xxx.x
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.xx.xxx.xx
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.xx.xxx.xxx
    24.xx.xxx.xx
    24.xx.xxx.xxx
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 20, 2003 4:44:08 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 21, 2003 3:43:16 AM


    This is all the information you will need for now, I sugest you either keep your dos/command prompt window open or copy & paste the information somewhere, to copy right click the window and select text and click once.

    III. Changing your IP Address
    To change your ip address first pick any ip you like out of your ip range and remember it or write it down. It is usualy a good idea to make sure the ip is dead (except for what we are going to do later on) so just ping it via "ping x.x.x.x" and if it times out then you can use it. Now go to My Computer, then Control Panel. In Control Panel select Network Connections and pick your active connection, probably Local Area Connection or your ISP name. Open that connection by double clicking on the icon in Network Connections, then select Properties under the General Tab. In the new window that pops up select Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) and click properties, it&#39;s under the general tab. In this new window select the General tab and choose "Use the following IP address" and for the IP address enter the ip you would like to use (the one you picked from your subnet earlier) and for the Subnet Mask enter the subnet mask you got when your ran ipconfig /all, same goes for the Default Gateway. Now select "Use the following DNS server addresses" and enter the information you got earlier. Now just click OK. Test that it worked, try to refresh a website and if it works you know everything is okay and you are connected. To make sure the change worked type ipconfig agein and the ip address should have changed to your new one.

    IV. DDoS & DoS Protection
    If your firewall shows that you are being ddosed, this is usualy when you are constantly getting atempted UDP connections several times a second from either the same ip address or multiple ip addresses (ddos), you can protect your self by changing your ip address via the method i described above.

    V. Webservers & Other Services
    If you know someone on your ip range is running a webserver and he or she has pissed you off or you just like messing around you can "steal" their ip address so any dns going to that ip will show your site instead because you would be running a webserver your self.

    To "steal" an ip is to basicaly use the changing ip address method above and picking an ip that someone that is running a webserver has in use. Often you will be able to keep that ip at least for some time, other times you wont be able to use it so just keep trying untill it works. You your self will need to have a web server on the same port with your message. You can do this with other services too. You can also DoS or DDoS the ip address you are trying to steal to kick him off the net, but I dont recomend as its pretty illegal.
    DISCLAIMER : I don&#39;t understand half of that, much less know if it&#39;s any good.

    ...or just ring up your ISP and ask for another IP.

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    Here&#39;s a fairly quick and painless way-

    Windows 98 Release and Renew IP

    Click on Start button
    Click on run
    Type in winipcfg
    New box should appear click on release all
    wait for it to release IP than click on renew all
    * You should now have a new IP address*

    Windows 2000 and XP Release and Renew IP

    Click on Start Button
    Click on run
    type in cmd
    When a black box appears "Command Prompt" type in ipconfig /release
    when the IP is released type in ipconfig /renew
    * You should now have a new IP address*
    Just remember that your ISP keeps track of your IP(s), no matter how many times you change it.

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    Yes that will drop his Internet and then his ISP will more than likely just assign him the same IP address again.

    I have broadband so my IP is static
    Just because you have Broadband does not mean you have a static IP


    Anyway...i KNOW i can change it - ive done it before...just wondering if ANYONE can assist me
    So you dont have a Static IP then. Cus if you had a static IP it would only change if your ISP changed it.


    You probably get the same IP address all the time like I do. But if I stayed offline long enough I would probably get another IP. ADSL even on Dynamic IP seems to give you the same IP over and over again its all down to luck if you get a new one or the same one.

    I dont believe your on Static IP if you have managed to change it yourself thats just B*llocks

    Hope this helps lol

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •