Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can Someone Tell Me

  1. #1
    I'm trying to convince someone he should switch to either sygate or ZA, but he swears that XP is just fine - so why should he switch ? I'm not familiar enough with firewalls to list the reasons, so if anyone can give me some good arguments to pass on...

  2. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #2
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    Computer security has nothing to do on whether you have a firewall or not. It mostly depends on what you visit, what you click, what you don't. My only firewall is XP's, and I've never had problems in A LOT of time.

    Don't be fooled. If someone tells you that XP firewall is the best....they are completely WRONG! It really comes up on HOW you surf.

    PEace

  3. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #3
    muchspl2
    Guest
    xp firewall = teh loose
    but if he doesn't want to have security then thats his problem isn't it
    I grow tired of trying to help people that think they don't need help
    fuck em
    /jaded

  4. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #4
    Lick My Lovepump
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    15
    Posts
    2,698
    I used the XP firewall in combination with Sygate once.

    I tried a few sites, ones that attempt to port scan you with and without the XP firewall on. With the XP firewall on, Sygate showed no alerts, and it couldn't even see my ports existed. Without the XP firewall on, Sygate showed a few alarms that attempts were being made on my PC.

    So yes, it does work.

  5. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #5
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    Put it this way. Even M$ advises to get a 3rd party firewall until SP2.

  6. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by zapjb@12 April 2004 - 11:19
    Put it this way. Even M$ advises to get a 3rd party firewall until SP2.
    ya well the sp2 firewall is annoying as hell. the popup things keep coming up saying that a program is accessing teh net and u have to set teh limits for each program, i do it and after restarting they reset and i get the messages all over again its dumb. probably jutst becuase its still beta but it is very very annoying...

  7. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #7
    Samurai's Avatar Usenet Fanboy
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,532
    Originally posted by muchspl2@12 April 2004 - 14:47
    xp firewall = teh loose
    but if he doesn't want to have security then thats his problem isn't it
    I grow tired of trying to help people that think they don't need help
    fuck em
    /jaded
    Dito

    I feel exactly the same. My dad is one of these people so I'm going to laugh in his face when he gets trojan'd or hacked. I'm not suggesting methods of protection for my own benefit.

  8. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #8
    If you have a home network and have PCs networked together, the XP firewall will not allow you to connect to your other computers on the network. Talk about a useless piece of crap if you ask me!

  9. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    367
    The xp firewall only blocks incoming, it does not block any outgoing messages.

    Every program you have can access the internet without asking.

  10. Internet, Programming and Graphics   -   #10
    Trust me, with XP firewall enabled your computer won't even see any other computers on your network.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •