Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Memory Help....

  1. #1
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    alrighty hardware ppl.....need your help
    yes, i have ventured out of the lounge and musicworld
    been lookin for a memory upgrade...DDR...
    was thinkin about just a 256 (that would double my memory)
    which would be fine for what i use the pc for

    i got two questions:

    1. i am seeing 184 pin modules and 200 pin modules
    is that the difference between the ECC and non-ECC modules?
    i know that my current memory is non-ECC, but dont know the pin count...
    am i on the right track here?

    2. with prices the way they are...was thinking of just getting a 512 DDR
    will that pose any probs with my other module being a 256?
    my system supports up to 1 gig per slot....
    and should i put the 512 in the first slot?
    (if i get it instead of the 256)

    thanks in advance for helpin a HW n00b B)
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    atiVidia's Avatar ^would've been cool.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,551
    Originally posted by FKDUP74@16 April 2004 - 20:35
    alrighty hardware ppl.....need your help
    yes, i have ventured out of the lounge and musicworld
    been lookin for a memory upgrade...DDR...
    was thinkin about just a 256 (that would double my memory)
    which would be fine for what i use the pc for

    i got two questions:

    1. i am seeing 184 pin modules and 200 pin modules
    is that the difference between the ECC and non-ECC modules?
    i know that my current memory is non-ECC, but dont know the pin count...
    am i on the right track here?

    2. with prices the way they are...was thinking of just getting a 512 DDR
    will that pose any probs with my other module being a 256?
    my system supports up to 1 gig per slot....
    and should i put the 512 in the first slot?
    (if i get it instead of the 256)

    thanks in advance for helpin a HW n00b B)
    ur mobo currently has 256 megs RAM on 1 stick?

    do u know what speed the ram is running on? (pc2100, pc2700, etc...)


    does ur mobo support dualchannel? (look in ur mobo manual lol)



    if so then try to get an exact duplicate of ur current ram module. on modern boards, the ram slots are paired. add the 256 to the other 256 (dont keep them on separate pairs. keep em together on the 2 slots which are side by side)


    performance will be MUCH better. however if you cant find an exact duplicate then just get another 256 lol.


    using 256 and 512 shouldnt generate any issues. however, if for some f00ked up reason ur board a&#036;&#036; fu<ks you cuz u put the 512 next to the 256 then move the 512 to its own pairing. you should have absolutely no isues...





    btw ur board prolly needs 184. use non ECC cuz its cheaper and many boards dont support ECC on the consumer level anyways (@ other forum surfers, please check me on this)

    200 i believe is SO-DIMM (laptop mem)

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    shit....forgot to mention that.....its PC2100

    and i coulda sworn i saw DIMM&#39;s with 200 pins
    (i may have just misread)

    but....the pairing and dual channel stuff you will have to explain

    this is what i do know...
    i only got two slots...
    its DDR SDRAM PC2100 266 MHz...
    its a Smart Modular Technologies module...

    and i havent found any Smart modules locally yet
    cant remember what the brand was i found, but i havent heard of it before
    but it carries a lifetime warranty, i do remember that much, heh heh

    and i got a crappy 256 so i wanna upgrade
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    What motherboard is this for?

    Most likely you could get a 512MB PC2100 module and put it in the first slot and move the 256 to the second slot. You would end up with 768MB.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    ok, AIDA32 helped me find my mobo&#39;s info...heres what i found on it:
    http://www.msicomputer.com/product/detail_...del=MS-6390LE-L

    its a Micro-Star Int. mobo

    now i know i need the 184 pin DIMM&#39;s
    but still havent a clue about the dual channel stuff you talked about...
    dont see it mentioned

    and they reccomend kingston memory, but i havent found any locally yet
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Originally posted by FKDUP74@17 April 2004 - 02:10


    and i got a crappy 256 so i wanna upgrade
    i got 512MB and i really wanna upgrade

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Originally posted by silent VI+16 April 2004 - 18:25--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (silent VI @ 16 April 2004 - 18:25)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-FKDUP74@17 April 2004 - 02:10


    and i got a crappy 256 so i wanna upgrade
    i got 512MB and i really wanna upgrade [/b][/quote]
    blah&#33;
    quit hi-jacking my thread
    i need it worse
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Originally posted by FKDUP74@16 April 2004 - 20:23
    now i know i need the 184 pin DIMM&#39;s
    but still havent a clue about the dual channel stuff you talked about...
    dont see it mentioned

    and they reccomend kingston memory, but i havent found any locally yet
    Don&#39;t worry about dual channel. It doesn&#39;t apply here.

    About the Kingson memory. I&#39;m willing to bet that you don&#39;t have Kingson in there right now. So... You can put other brands without problems.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    atiVidia's Avatar ^would've been cool.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,551
    lol ok hopefully his probs are solved lol




    finally the board is awake&#33;

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Originally posted by atiVidia@16 April 2004 - 18:38
    finally the board is awake&#33;
    has it been that dead in here?

    yeah, and my memory isnt Kingston, its Smart Modualr or something like that

    i did find a stick of Viking 256 for 50 bucks, at Bestbuy
    better than the 70 i was quoted earlier

    and there is still a 512 stick for &#036;90 by some company i cant remember
    at CompUSA i think it was

    fk it, may just have to do wit a 256 upgrade for now
    but 256 x2 is still better than 256
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •