Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Cable Modem

  1. #1
    k heres the deal i signed up with earthlink. They said that they will send me the earthlink software and the cable modem. My cable modem is now installed at home (i'm at school) what i want to know is will i be able to use cable internet with internet explorer till they bring the software .
    I have Mordens Audio Hack PLEZ stop emailing me

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    What the software does is registers your modem with your ip address/isp. So probably not. You can still try but I doubt it will really work. Maybe you can get the software online while you are at school.
    Need a cheap/easy way of modding your xbox? Check this out.


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    I dont think you need software for a cable modem, unless its usb, if its ethernet then it handles the connection itself and your computer just sees it as a network device and gets internet from it...but if its usb, it will need drivers.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    First time I installed XP PRO I was amazed how idiot proof it was with a cable modem and ethernet card . I didn'nt do anything at all . IE connected after install. You do have to setup your e-mail account tho. Mabey that's what the software is for. I like mozilla now tho.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    If you have registered the cable modem with your ip, you wont have to again even if you do a clean install. So if you have already used the software, you wont need it again.
    Need a cheap/easy way of modding your xbox? Check this out.


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    179
    I would not install the earthlink software, It is full of shit and annoying features like AOL, the cable modem will work fine without it as long as you have the usb drivers if it is connected through usb.
    AOL 9.0 Now with top speed sarcasm that is 5x funnier than normal
    dial up sarcasm complete with AOL instant stalker.

    AOL 9.0 with top speed and AOL instant stalker...more expensive than saffron but worth it!

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by justin_9733@26 April 2004 - 21:20
    I would not install the earthlink software, It is full of shit and annoying features like AOL, the cable modem will work fine without it as long as you have the usb drivers if it is connected through usb.
    earthlink will install AOL wierd, why would they promote another ISP

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    zapjb's Avatar Computer Abuser BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    3,694
    He meant similar to, of course.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    atiVidia's Avatar ^would've been cool.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,551
    rofl itd be pretty dumb lol... unless they created a broadband aggreement (AOL has its BYOB program, so u could combine it with earthlink in a way...)

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    179
    Originally posted by zapjb@26 April 2004 - 18:51
    He meant similar to, of course.
    ya, I meant features similar to AOL.
    AOL 9.0 Now with top speed sarcasm that is 5x funnier than normal
    dial up sarcasm complete with AOL instant stalker.

    AOL 9.0 with top speed and AOL instant stalker...more expensive than saffron but worth it!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •