Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: My Nf7-s North Bridge

  1. #1
    Hey, just to let everyone know, the Northbridge fan on the NF7-S mobo is shit....
    I've had this mobo for maybe 2 months now and the nb fan just gives out, every minute or two it just starts rattling like a fucker and stops...very dangerous....
    anyway I ordered the Zalman Northbridge Cooler and it should be on it,s way, it should apparantly drop temps 3-4 degrees, as well as run totally silent, another step forward in the battle of achieving silence....
    damn NF7-S....
    It's an amazing mobo, but the fuckin Northbridge Coller dies in a number of months, my friend has the same mobo and his gave out as well
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by kaiweiler@27 April 2004 - 19:33
    Hey, just to let everyone know, the Northbridge fan on the NF7-S mobo is shit....
    I've had this mobo for maybe 2 months now and the nb fan just gives out, every minute or two it just starts rattling like a fucker and stops...very dangerous....
    anyway I ordered the Zalman Northbridge Cooler and it should be on it,s way, it should apparantly drop temps 3-4 degrees, as well as run totally silent, another step forward in the battle of achieving silence....
    damn NF7-S....
    It's an amazing mobo, but the fuckin Northbridge Coller dies in a number of months, my friend has the same mobo and his gave out as well
    new one ur getting is awsome. I was also looking into buying this nortbridge cooler, as my tiny little one, i feel, is too little.

    now I know atleast where in canada I can order it from thanks for that.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Hey rossco!
    Yeah I read up on it a lot, and it seems to be the best around....
    I didn't order it from that site though. I got it from Vibe Computers, which is a place I've had very good luck with so far, I buy most of my stuff there, it's cheaper and they are pretty reliable
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I bought one of those for my northbridge, but it was too small.
    So I stuck it on my southbridge instead.

    I'm seriously considering using one on my vidcard, too.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Originally posted by clocker@27 April 2004 - 20:47
    I bought one of those for my northbridge, but it was too small.
    So I stuck it on my southbridge instead.

    I'm seriously considering using one on my vidcard, too.
    Yeah from what the reviews say these things are amazing
    especially for only 10 bucks canadian!
    I don't think my vid card needs one, the heatsink that comes on it stock is actually quite good





    I like it lol

    EDIT oh and I know it will fit, because a few of the reviews used the NF7-S to test it and it fit perfect...
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by kaiweiler@27 April 2004 - 18:52


    EDIT oh and I know it will fit, because a few of the reviews used the NF7-S to test it and it fit perfect...
    Oh, it would have fit my board just fine.

    My northbridge chip was just larger than the bottom of the HS, that's all.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7

    should work fine for me...
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by kaiweiler@27 April 2004 - 21:03

    should work fine for me...
    its the same chipset isnt it?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Yes it is.

    The bottom of the Zalman HS is not flat.
    It is relieved (stepped) on two sides, so only the center will make contact with the chip.
    It may be that this won't matter...I don't know how much of the northbridge chip is active (i.e. hot)...but I decided not to find out.
    The little stock sink that Asus provides makes contact with the entire surface of the chip....
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I like it.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •