Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: 2nd Hard Drive

  1. #1
    asmithz's Avatar Hi-Definition
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    11,082
    I am running out of space and wondering where, when i buy a hdd, would it go. This is my computer.

    http://www.e4me.com/products/products.html...Machines_T3065#

    Just click photo gallery

    I know i can open it up and see, but i havent opened it yet and rather ask.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    This is what you want.

    If not, go with Newegg.com, TigeDirect.com, or eBay B)
    Need a cheap/easy way of modding your xbox? Check this out.


  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    asmithz's Avatar Hi-Definition
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    11,082
    No i am asking where would the hard drive would go.


  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    If you can't mount it like a normal one....hmmm.

    Is there one 5.25 mount free? It don't look that way but maybe you could move stuff out of the way.

    I think there are adapters for harddrives, and even some harddrive cooler from coolermaster you could get.

    Otherwise maybe you could take an extra bridge if you got one and mount it to the wall or floor of the chassis, though getting rid of the vibrations would be tricky.

    Nah, get an adapter for external ide or SCSI drives and a controller card with one out-socket.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    FlyingDutchman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Dutchland
    Posts
    171
    Originally posted by Agent Smith@8 May 2004 - 10:02
    I know i can open it up and see, but i havent opened it yet and rather ask.
    You'll have to open it up anyway, so just do it, and have a look for yourself.

    As far as I can see there isn't a designated spot for the 2nd HD.

    Keep in mind that the 2nd HD needs to be connected to the same cable as the 1st, so they have to be pretty close together. Also verify your cable has connectors for 2 HDs, otherwise you need a better cable on your shopping list too.

    (Why is it I open up a new PC before I switch it on? )

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Lick My Lovepump
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    15
    Posts
    2,698
    Originally posted by SingaBoiy@8 May 2004 - 10:12
    This is what you want.

    If not, go with Newegg.com, TigeDirect.com, or eBay B)
    Yes, lets advise him to get the most expensive hard drive we can see without even asking if he has a controller card or support for SCSI.
    Scuzzy

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Originally posted by Mad Cat+8 May 2004 - 12:50--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Mad Cat @ 8 May 2004 - 12:50)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-SingaBoiy@8 May 2004 - 10:12
    This is what you want.

    If not, go with Newegg.com, TigeDirect.com, or eBay B)
    Yes, lets advise him to get the most expensive hard drive we can see without even asking if he has a controller card or support for SCSI.
    Scuzzy [/b][/quote]
    Sounds like a plan.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    I have seen adaptor plates at MicroCenter that bolt onto the floppy bay and extend downward to mount a second HDD.
    They are inexpensive and look like they would work in your case.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    You see the speed on that sucker though... 15,000 rpm.

    You could:

    Get a hdd cooler that fits into a 5.25 bay and put your 2nd hdd in the bottom and the cd on the top.

    You can, like SnnY and clocker said, get an extra bridge and put it in there.

    Take out your floppy and add in the hdd to that spot

    Get an external hdd

    Place it somewhere on the bottom of the case. Like on top of a cheap (&#036;5) hdd cooler

    Or get a new case. This would be my choice.
    Need a cheap/easy way of modding your xbox? Check this out.


  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Agent Smith,
    Keep in mind that HDDs are not position sensative...so any way that you can bolt it in will work.
    First, find out the reach of your Molex connectors and your IDE cable...that will determine a general area you have to work in...then figure out the least intrusive method of mounting the second drive.
    Double sided tape and Velcro will work as mounting methods, too...you needn&#39;t get too involved here.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •