Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Reinstall Question

  1. #1
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    I need to do a reinstall.

    I have some goofy problem I created by messing about where I shouldn't have (par for the course).

    My question is this:

    Can I take a clean formatted HDD, install it as my primary drive, load XP Pro, then install my normal main HDD (with the defective OS) as a slave, and pull all my goodies back onto the "new" primary drive without an OS conflict on re-boot?

    I plan to re-format the slave after I'm finished (both drives are 80G WD Caviar).

    Anyone see any problems here?

    These types of things drive me crazy (although I must say, my luck has been fairly good), 'cuz I'm under the gun to get it done tomorrow.
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Should work without a problem. I have done the same thing on many machines to recover data.

    Just be sure to set the jumper to slave on the older drive.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    yes it will work fine. i recomend you make some partitions (if you havent already done that) so that you can format the windows parrtition if you have problems and not loose all of your programs and downloads.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Man, what would I do without you guys?

    I'll proceed tomorrow morning with an unfurrowed brow and a clear mind.

    Thanks!!
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    4,097
    I would recommend (for next time), to have a spare HDD in which you can backup the important stuff. I have about 3 or 4 HDD's to spare which I use in emergencies, and only use my 80gig WD, partitioned in 3.


  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Originally posted by DWk@15 May 2004 - 21:27
    I would recommend (for next time), to have a spare HDD in which you can backup the important stuff. I have about 3 or 4 HDD's to spare which I use in emergencies, and only use my 80gig WD, partitioned in 3.

    Where ya been, DwK, I miss our frequent arguments!!!

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    atiVidia's Avatar ^would've been cool.
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,551
    as VB said, yes it will work so long as u change the jumper settings on the old drive to slave .

    if i am not mistaken, you cant boot an os off of a slave anyway...

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by atiVidia@16 May 2004 - 02:00
    as VB said, yes it will work so long as u change the jumper settings on the old drive to slave .

    if i am not mistaken, you cant boot an os off of a slave anyway...
    but it has to be written into the master boot file which is on the primary drive...so you couldnt boot off it until you added the entry...

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    j2k4's Avatar en(un)lightened
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Oh, please...
    Posts
    15,254
    Originally posted by DWk@15 May 2004 - 23:27
    I would recommend (for next time), to have a spare HDD in which you can backup the important stuff. I have about 3 or 4 HDD's to spare which I use in emergencies, and only use my 80gig WD, partitioned in 3.

    All good stuff to know, guys.

    DWk-

    That is my aim; I've got two 80g on-board with a 20G on the shelf (OS, AV, firewall, utilities, etc.) for just the backup you describe.

    Anyway-thanks again; I'm off to do the dirty deed!
    “Think about how stupid the average person is, and then realize that half of 'em are stupider than that.” -George Carlin

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    I wonder if the file transfer wizard would be of any use in this case?
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertz.../november12.asp

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •