Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Computer Restart

  1. #1
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    I just got manhunt...and after I play it for a while or so my computer just randomly restarts...its really anoying.

    My graphics card isnt overclocked at all right now....any ideas on what it might be?

    CPU is running 37 idle...bout 45ish full load...
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    Right click My Computer and select Properties,
    Click the Advanced tab,
    Click the Settings button in the bottom section labelled Startup and Recovery,
    Remove the tick (checkmark) from the box labelled Automatically Restart in the lower section labelled System failure,
    Click OK,
    Click OK,
    PLay Manhunt,
    Write down the error the BSOD displays,
    Reboot system,
    Either:
    - Post the error message here for help, or
    - Google the error message.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    @bigdawgfoxx, how could you not know to turn off automatically the restrart feature? I have mentioned it, I don't know how many, times in the past little while and have seen others talk about that here in Hardwareworld. I don't get how you could have missed it.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Haha yeah Im always here...I knew how to do that..I guess it just didnt come to mind lol

    Im prob gettin me 2 15in eclipses B) thanks for yalls help!
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Ok...its not just restarting by itself, but like I got one of those windows errors, and then it ask me if i wana send a report to microsoft and shit..

    Then I was playing again..for like 20 mins...and it just went to a blue screen and made like a really fast beeping noise on the speakers...
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@16 May 2004 - 22:24
    Ok...its not just restarting by itself, but like I got one of those windows errors, and then it ask me if i wana send a report to microsoft and shit..

    Then I was playing again..for like 20 mins...and it just went to a blue screen and made like a really fast beeping noise on the speakers...
    A plain blue screen or one with error details on it?
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@16 May 2004 - 15:28
    I knew how to do that...
    Yeah right. You're still asking questions after it has been explaned to you already.
    Right click My Computer and select Properties,
    Click the Advanced tab,
    Click the Settings button in the bottom section labelled Startup and Recovery,
    Remove the tick (checkmark) from the box labelled Automatically Restart in the lower section labelled System failure,
    Click OK,
    Click OK,
    PLay Manhunt,
    Write down the error the BSOD displays,
    Reboot system,
    Either:
    - Post the error message here for help, or
    - Google the error message.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    Whats your problem? I did know that, 2 years ago my old Dell kept doing it and I called them and they showed me how.

    Its just a plain blue screen..
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    Originally posted by bigdawgfoxx@16 May 2004 - 22:43
    Its just a plain blue screen..
    Check the error logs in Administrative Tools in Control Panel
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    I don't know why I didn't post this before but...it could be your OCed processor. When you are OCing, and your computer becomes unstable, the first thing you should try is unOCing your processor.

    After that I guess reinstalling some drivers might help (video card and chipset drivers are important, soundcard might help too).

    Last but not least, run a memory test. I've heard good about Memtest86, so you might want to try that out.

    But first, do what ChewieUK has suggested, and take a look in event logs and post any errors you can find that have to do with the problem. Then post here so maybe we can narrow down how many different tests you will have to try.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •