Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Building New Computer

  1. #1
    Hey all. I decided to build me a new computer with these specs:

    Processor: Pentium 4 2.8E
    Motherboard: ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
    Case: Thermaltake Modern Life Style XaserV Series - Damier V5000A
    Monitor: Viewsonic E90f+SB 19" GOT IT!!! $229
    Video: Undecided (Possibly ATI x800 XT if I get the money)
    Memory: Undecided (possibly OCZ EL DDR PC4400 Gold 1GB Dual Channel Kit)
    Power Supply: Thermaltake Silent PurePower Series - TWV480 Total Watts Viewer (maybe)
    Heatsink/Fan: Undecided (most likely Thermalright SP-94)
    Hard Drive: Either big IDE drive or fast SATA drive...or both!
    Optical Drives: DVD+-RW (possibly a dual-layer one)
    Extras: Case Lights, Case Fans

    Any suggestions or comments? I am really looking forward to this system as I've never even had a computer in the GHz speeds .

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    well i guess ill be the first to say boo pentium, but pc4400, damn
    ...

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Hard Drive: Either big IDE drive or fast SATA drive...or both
    The fact that a drive has SATA interface doesn't mean that it will perform any faster that the same drive with IDE.

    Let me be #2 to say that you can get more for your money with AMD.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Originally posted by Virtualbody1234@17 June 2004 - 18:14
    Hard Drive: Either big IDE drive or fast SATA drive...or both
    The fact that a drive has SATA interface doesn't mean that it will perform any faster that the same drive with IDE.

    Let me be #2 to say that you can get more for your money with AMD.
    Although true, don't overlook the undeniable easing of clutter that SATA brings to the table.

    And I'll be #3 to say AMD.
    And the first to try to dissuade from the Xaser case.
    I had one and they ain't worth the money.

    Since money doesn't seem to be much of an issue, go with a PCP&C PSU or, second choice, a Fortron.
    Not as sexy as LEDs granted, but money better spent.

    OK Zap...ball's in your court. B)
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    @Duffman3- 4400 needed for extreme overclocks
    @Virtualbody1234- mobo has IDE and SATA built in, just dont know which one I'll use, but I know what you are saying about the fast I threw in there, I had just thought SATA was faster
    @clocker- I just love how that Xaser case looks I'll also check out those PSUs

    And about the pentium: 2.8e has been sucessfully oc'd to 3.75GHz on air cooling, and for $175, thats good Also, I like pentiums better, as they beat AMDs in some technical matters (dealing with pipelining of FPU numbers, pentium can do 1 per clock, AMD only 1 per 2 clocks, ect.) and I want that HT!

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    I knew it was for extreme overclocking, my damn was meant as in damn thats some fast ram... that rhymed
    ...

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    get 2.8C not E if ur gettin pentium 4
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Originally posted by Duffman3@18 June 2004 - 03:37
    I knew it was for extreme overclocking, my damn was meant as in damn thats some fast ram... that rhymed
    ya, thats what I'm saying, I was originally thinking of 3200, then saw the 4400, and was like you, WOW And with timing of 2.5-4-4-8,

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    thats not that great of timing..i dont think you need 4400..thats over the top..by far.

    My ram is 2-2-2-5...thats timing
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    yeah but if you spend a little extra now, it'll be uselfull longer down the road than the 3200
    ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •