Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: How Do I Delete Everything And Start New

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    188
    I think im refferring to formatting C

    i dont want anything on the computer i want to reinstall my boot disc and everything

    how do i do this i dont have anything important on the computer

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    if your running the fat32 filesystem you can just boot into dos and say
    c:\
    then
    format c:
    and you should be good to go
    if running ntfs filesystem the best way is to run fdisk and delete all partitions
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    188
    how do i boot into dos?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Originally posted by Champ@23 June 2004 - 22:08
    how do i boot into dos?
    what os are you on??
    ohh shit your on XP home, thought you were on 98 where you can just have the option to restart into dos mode, sorry.
    in that case, run fdisk anyway and delete all partitions

    EDIT you also probably have the option to format just by putting in your XP home cd and booting from that
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    JUST INSERT YOUR XP DISK, AND GO FROM THERE.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Originally posted by orcutt989@23 June 2004 - 22:10
    JUST INSERT YOUR XP DISK, AND GO FROM THERE.
    Edited my last post just as you posted that
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    sparsely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    static hum
    Posts
    3,538
    Once in the XP setup from the cd, you'll want to delete your current system partition, and reformat it (do a quick format) and then you'll install Windows to that partition.

    this post is guaranteed 100% parrot-free

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Originally posted by Champ@23 June 2004 - 22:08
    how do i boot into dos?
    a windows 98 boot disk will boot you in to dos.
    but no need for that just use xp cd.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Yes.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by orcutt989@24 June 2004 - 20:30
    Yes.
    Yes what?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •