Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Computer Not Reconizing My Cd-drive...

  1. #1
    Alright so last night for some odd reason my computer decided to stop seeing that I had a CD-ROM installed on this piece of crap. My former D: drive no longer shows up in My Computer... and it wont read any discs. The last thing I was doing with it was playing mp3's off a data CD... then it went kaput. Any advice?
    <span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>I eat quarters.
    My Hero</span>

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Did you try restarting your computer?

    What are the specs of the so called "piece of crap"?
    What operating system are you using?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    and you havn&#39;t had your case open and playing around in it have you??
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Try going to Device Manager and uninstalling the CD drive.
    Then reinstall it.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Thats weird, it happened with me to. But only with So Long Astoria. By the band The Ataris. I thought maybe because it is an Enhannced Cd, but it would play it before. When i would insert the Ataris CD, my D: drive would simply disappear, making me restart my computer.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    It came back and is working like normal after I re-started... but it&#39;s weird how that happened in the first place. Oh well. Thanks guys&#33; :-D
    <span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>I eat quarters.
    My Hero</span>

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by Engvalt@25 June 2004 - 15:53
    It came back and is working like normal after I re-started... but it&#39;s weird how that happened in the first place. Oh well. Thanks guys&#33; :-D
    what orcutt said makes sense...

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Haha, i dont know if you are being sarcastic. But does it shut off when you are using enhanced cd&#39;s? If you dont know, have you bought them relatively recently from a major record store? The Ataris signed on to Columbia a while back, so it has an enhanced cd. Look on the case, it would say there, maybe on the actual cd. I know on my Ataris Cd it doesnt.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by orcutt989@26 June 2004 - 11:46
    Haha, i dont know if you are being sarcastic. But does it shut off when you are using enhanced cd&#39;s? If you dont know, have you bought them relatively recently from a major record store? The Ataris signed on to Columbia a while back, so it has an enhanced cd. Look on the case, it would say there, maybe on the actual cd. I know on my Ataris Cd it doesnt.
    nahh, wasn&#39;t being sarcastic at all, you had an idea, and the thread starter found that it was pretty close to what ur idea was, so i say that ur idea makes sense...

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    Haha, thats sad if all this topic got was one more post. POST BITCHES, OR I&#39;LL CUT YOU.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •