Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Help Installing Xp

  1. #1
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    i know its late and noones gonna awnser this in the next hour but ive decieded to format and install for reasons discussed in hardware world.

    ive formatted my computer and put a windows 98 boot disc in just so it can read the xp cd, but it says this program cannot run in dos when i type setup.

    is their a special comand, or is their a xp boot disc special to xp? ive dieieded to fix all this tonight so hopefully someones awake.

    thanks

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Boot off the CD. You may have to set your BIOS for this.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    and how do i boot off the cd? if that dosnt work, ill ask for info on bios

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Originally posted by TheCanuk@26 June 2004 - 00:29
    and how do i boot off the cd? if that dosnt work, ill ask for info on bios
    You know how you boot off a disk. It is the same thing.

    For your bios, Look where you can set the boot order.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    wudda u mean, with a floppy it doesit 4 u. when i take the floppy out and start it it says insert a system disc, and i cant to it with out it.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    i think u r trying to run the setup for xp made for 98 or me....that will NOT run in dos. for that u can either boot from the xp cd (the stup should run automatically)..or go to 1386 folder in the xp cd and run the setup for dos (i dont remember the clear name)....hope this helps

    regards
    ramnique

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    there we go, i had to change the bios so it boots the cd rom first. thanks for the help guys and stick around, cause chances are with my luck more things will go rong

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    c got another question already. when going threw the setup screens i am left with these 4 questions about something called partitioning.

    leave the patrition using NTFS file<quick>
    leave the patrition using NTFS file
    convert partition using NTFS
    leave current system

    all i want is to install xp and use it, i know partitioning a drive is splitting it up and i dunn really want to do that. so what should i pick->im thinking leave it alone but i really dont know much when it comes to this area

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Originally posted by TheCanuk@26 June 2004 - 00:36
    wudda u mean, with a floppy it doesit 4 u. when i take the floppy out and start it it says insert a system disc, and i cant to it with out it.
    ok. Where did you get your copy of windows XP. Can you check if it is bootable?


    1.. First thing...

    1. Put in your Windows XP cd-rom

    2. Re-start your Computer.


    2... If that does not work then check your bios..

    Go look for the option that set your boot order...

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Smith's Avatar Since 1989.. BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a plane, high as fuck
    Posts
    5,637
    ive already done that, look at my new question below

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •