Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Logitech Z-640 Speakers Problem

  1. #1
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    hey there, i have the logitech z-640 5.1 ss speaker set. it has been great to me for the past year, but recently i noticed that my speakers sounded really distorted and i heard lots of extra "noise" from the speakers. i thought it was just a glitch in the input or something so i messed with my audio controls, nothing. restarted, nothing.
    then i just let them play while i messed with my cords to make sure everything was plugged in right and tight, then sub stopped working completely. all the satellites worked fine though and kept playing, but the "noise" had stopped and they were all playing fine & clear like usual. it is really weird. i can get the sub to work for a few seconds if i tap on the back of it, but it brings back the extra distortion and then cuts out a little bit later.
    i hooked the system up to a tv thinking maybe it was just my computer's onboard audio going crazy, but it did the same thing.
    my guess is that a wire or connection came loose somewhere and is causing all this strangeness.

    anyone else had a problem like this?? i'm going to call logitech tomorrow and get a RMA number because its still got 1 year on the warranty

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    You sure it's not just a loose external wire?

    Anyway, no this problem hasn't been mentioned here before in Hardwareworld. Good luck with the RMA.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    Originally posted by Virtualbody1234@28 June 2004 - 01:23
    You sure it's not just a loose external wire?

    Anyway, no this problem hasn't been mentioned here before in Hardwareworld. Good luck with the RMA.
    i'm positive its not. everything is plugged in right. there is only 4 cables (excluding 1 power) that need to be connected.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    they do that at two different times for me:

    1) If the big cable going from volume control speaker to subwoofer isn't plugged in all the way.

    or

    2) If, in teh voume controls, microphone isn't muted.


    check those two things, other than that probably a driver problem or crappy soundcard. but to make sure, plug the speakers into a portable cd player and see if it sounds distorted.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    check those two things, other than that probably a driver problem or crappy soundcard. but to make sure, plug the speakers into a portable cd player and see if it sounds distorted.
    hooked the system up to a tv thinking maybe it was just my computer's onboard audio going crazy, but it did the same thing.
    Ross, read the post before you reply.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    yeah and i disconnected the big black cable and replugged & screwed it in tight. its gotta be an internal connection going out because by tapping it, i must be partially re-connecting it.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    wow! i just called logitech's customer support and i've gotta say they are ace!! i called 'em up and got an operator right away, told them my info, the problem, a qc number and boom, i've got a brand new set coming i dont even have to send anything back either!

    only bad thing is that the speakers are on backorder but damn their customer service was great. B)

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by lee551@28 June 2004 - 15:00
    wow! i just called logitech's customer support and i've gotta say they are ace!! i called 'em up and got an operator right away, told them my info, the problem, a qc number and boom, i've got a brand new set coming i dont even have to send anything back either!

    only bad thing is that the speakers are on backorder but damn their customer service was great. B)
    really I could say mine are broken and get a second pair for my dad or sister. B)

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lee551's Avatar no soup for you! BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,867
    i know! i can't believe they just took my word for it that it was broken.

    i can't remember if i mailed in my warranty/registration card either. if i did, it prolly helped a lot.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •