Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Opening Msconfig Opens A Folder...

  1. #1
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    If i type msconfig into the run box (start>run) this is what i get:
    Image Resized
    [img]http://img59.photobucket.com/albums/v180/rossco_2004/msconfigmessedupwhy.jpg' width='200' height='120' border='0' alt='click for full size view'>
    It's a folder, if i click the msconfig file it works. But this is kinda annoying....

    I think it is doing it becuase i uninstalled the PChealth and support center stuff...

    anybody know how i can make it still open by start>run without opening the folder??? (without reinstalling pchealth and support center)

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    crap, posted in wrong forum again.

    anyway, i got it fixed. Had to copy the files from that folder over to my system32 folder and it now opens. Not sure how i got that idea, but i did it and it works so..


    i have a new question now. When i startup my computer the little speaker icon doesn't come up in system tray. Used to yesterday, day b4, has for like ever. Any idea why it doesn't? (I've made sure it is enabled, even disabled then enabled it and still doesn't work)

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Go to Start>Control Panel>Sounds and Audio Devices then click "Place Volume Icon in Taskbar"
    That what you wanted??
    Q6600 @ 3.42Ghz | Gigabyte EP35-DS3R | EVGA 8800GT 721/1802/2006 w/ Accelero S1 | 4gb Crucial DDR2 @ 760mhz | 750gb Hitachi 7k1000 | Corsair 520HX | 2 x Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" | Windows 7 Ultimate

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by kaiweiler@30 June 2004 - 21:35
    Go to Start>Control Panel>Sounds and Audio Devices then click "Place Volume Icon in Taskbar"
    That what you wanted??
    no, i did that, didn't work...it makes it come back, but after a restart it goes away again.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    319
    yeah i have an issue with the search assistant on my PC (search that appears int he task bar) , i witch it off - it disappears, but after a restart its there again!

    help
    <span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:blue'><span style='font-family:Arial'>AMD 2600
    512 DDR RAM
    160GB HDD
    GeForce 5600 FX 256mb
    Sony DVD writer +/-
    Windows XP</span></span>
    <span style='color:red'><span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>Bit torrent client - ABC</span></span></span>

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by bilko@1 July 2004 - 11:20
    yeah i have an issue with the search assistant on my PC (search that appears int he task bar) , i witch it off - it disappears, but after a restart its there again&#33;

    help
    you can fix that by downloading XPlite and uninstalling the search assistant.

    I&#39;m having more problems now too:

    sometimes at startup the sspeaker comes up, sometimes it doesn&#39;t. Sometiems msn opens, sometimes it doesn&#39;t, sometimes antivirus comes up, sometimes it doesn.t


    what the hell is going on? (btw, these 3 things are my only startup items).

    I think it may be time for a format. Finally get to test out the image i made way back a few months ago.

    And can a mod PLEASE move this to software world.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    126
    if you didn&#39;t format yet.....


    download hijack this here.

    extract the program into it&#39;s own folder. scan and save a log. copy and paste it here.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Log looks fine to me:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 11:44:42 PM, on 7/2/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;smss.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;SYSTEM32&#092;winlogon.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;system32&#092;services.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;system32&#092;lsass.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;system32&#092;svchost.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;svchost.exe
    C:&#092;Program Files&#092;TGTSoft&#092;StyleXP&#092;StyleXPService.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;system32&#092;spoolsv.exe
    C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Eset&#092;nod32krn.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;nvsvc32.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;oodag.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;tcpsvcs.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;snmp.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;svchost.exe
    C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Logitech&#092;iTouch&#092;iTouch.exe
    C:&#092;PROGRAM FILES&#092;SCANJET&#092;PrecisionScanLT&#092;hppwrsav.exe
    C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Eset&#092;nod32kui.exe
    C:&#092;Program Files&#092;MSN Messenger&#092;msnmsgr.exe
    C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Logitech&#092;MouseWare&#092;system&#092;em_exec.exe
    C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Hotmail Popper&#092;hotpop.exe
    C:&#092;Documents and Settings&#092;Ross&#092;Start Menu&#092;Programs&#092;Startup&#092;S2kCtl.exe
    C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;explorer.exe
    C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Winamp&#092;winamp.exe
    C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Mozilla Firefox&#092;firefox.exe
    D:&#092;Setup Files&#092;HiJackThis&#33;&#092;HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU&#092;Software&#092;Microsoft&#092;Internet Explorer&#092;Main,Start Page = http://www.google.ca
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {0000CC75-ACF3-4cac-A0A9-DD3868E06852} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Adobe&#092;Acrobat 6.0&#092;Reader&#092;ActiveX&#092;AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {C56CB6B0-0D96-11D6-8C65-B2868B609932} - C:&#092;Program Files&#092;NetTransport 2&#092;NTIEHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM&#092;..&#092;Run: [zBrowser Launcher] C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Logitech&#092;iTouch&#092;iTouch.exe
    O4 - HKLM&#092;..&#092;Run: [hppwrsav] C:&#092;PROGRAM FILES&#092;SCANJET&#092;PrecisionScanLT&#092;hppwrsav.exe
    O4 - HKLM&#092;..&#092;Run: [nod32kui] C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Eset&#092;nod32kui.exe /WAITSERVICE
    O4 - HKLM&#092;..&#092;Run: [Logitech Utility] Logi_MwX.Exe
    O4 - HKLM&#092;..&#092;Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM&#092;..&#092;Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM&#092;..&#092;Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKCU&#092;..&#092;Run: [msnmsgr] "C:&#092;Program Files&#092;MSN Messenger&#092;msnmsgr.exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU&#092;..&#092;Run: [STYLEXP] C:&#092;Program Files&#092;TGTSoft&#092;StyleXP&#092;StyleXP.exe -Hide
    O4 - HKCU&#092;..&#092;Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:&#092;WINDOWS&#092;System32&#092;NVMCTRAY.DLL,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - Startup: Hotmail Popper.lnk = C:&#092;Program Files&#092;Hotmail Popper&#092;hotpop.exe
    O4 - Startup: S2kCtl.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download all by Net Transport - C:&#092;Program Files&#092;NetTransport 2&#092;NTAddList.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Download by Net Transport - C:&#092;Program Files&#092;NetTransport 2&#092;NTAddLink.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:&#092;PROGRA~1&#092;MICROS~2&#092;OFFICE11&#092;EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra &#39;Tools&#39; menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Research (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger Addon (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra &#39;Tools&#39; menuitem: &Messenger Addon (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {21F49842-BFA9-11D2-A89C-00104B62BDDA} (ChartFX Internet Control) - http://www.schaeffersresearch.com/download/CfxIEAx.cab
    O16 - DPF: {24BACF02-5676-11D3-B8DE-00105A17A9E6} (ChartFX Internet Financial Client 4.0) - http://www.schaeffersresearch.com/Do...4Financial.cab
    O16 - DPF: {3AF4DACE-36ED-42EF-9DFC-ADC34DA30CFF} (PatchInstaller.Installer) - file://E:&#092;content&#092;include&#092;XPPatchInstaller.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/...8122.4840393519
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwa...ash/swflash.cab
    O17 - HKLM&#092;System&#092;CCS&#092;Services&#092;Tcpip&#092;..&#092;{383FAAA1-9B2D-4525-8A43-BF6825048B0C}: NameServer = 192.168.0.1
    O17 - HKLM&#092;System&#092;CS1&#092;Services&#092;Tcpip&#092;..&#092;{383FAAA1-9B2D-4525-8A43-BF6825048B0C}: NameServer = 192.168.0.1

    well, O9 im not so sure about, any idea what that is?
    edit: O3 as well.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Another idea i have is that it may be something to do with one of the latest windows Updates.

    Automatic updates has been downloading a lot of security updates lately, and problem may lie in one of them, anyone?

    and update on my problems:
    • Computer takes forever to boot
    • To remedy this, I have to open task manager, and end explorer.exe, then remake that process.
    • TV comes up as primary display sometimes
    • Resolution sometimes changes to either 800*600 ot 1024*768 (my wanted resolution is 1052*864)
    • Sometimes at boot if i dont have a slow boot, it will be some other problem like the start menu doesn&#39;t appear or something.
    • Occasionally my startup programs don&#39;t open...sometimes all of them, other times just one or two will not open (my only programs in system tray are usually MSN Messenger, a temperature monitoring program, and NOD32, along with the little speaker icon)

    There are others which i cannot think of right now. I have tried a few different video drivers: 56.72, 61.11, and the latest Omegas. None make any difference.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    126
    the 03 and 09 are fine

    just a little cleanup:

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {0000CC75-ACF3-4cac-A0A9-DD3868E06852} - (no file)

    check the item, close all browser windows and hit fix checked.

    the only reference i find to this one S2kCtl.exe is in russian. is this the temperature monitoring program you were talking about? are you sure that&#39;s all it does?

    you can try fixing it and see if it improves your bootup time. (you can always restore the backup if it doesn&#39;t improve)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •