Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: .dat Files

  1. #1
    LilAznAccommodator's Avatar Celestial Seraph
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    California
    Age
    29
    Posts
    475
    I just recently downloaded a movie that was 1.39 GB, but it is in .dat format... And I not really sure what program opens such a file, also i tried converting it to like an .mpeg but I always get these strange messages... I used such programs like, Dr. DivX, Nero, VCDGear, ezConvertor... But I still can't manage to run the Movie.. and I don't wnat to have wasted 7 hours dl'ing 1.39 GB... Anyone happen to have any ideas?
    Credits to ChuNaku,Kazearashi,Kennethzzz,Kiyocchi,S4ku,Tanakachi and Tubster68:

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    manker's Avatar effendi
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    I wear an Even Steven wit
    Posts
    44,031
    This is the wrong section for you to be posting in but it sounds like you were using Kazaa and the file either may not have finished downloading or an error occurred when finalising the download.

    If the file is at all usable you should be able to view it in VLC - once installed, right click the dat file choose 'open with' then select vlc
    I plan on beating him to death with his kids. I'll use them as a bludgeon on his face. -

    --Good for them if they survive.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    LilAznAccommodator's Avatar Celestial Seraph
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    California
    Age
    29
    Posts
    475
    Sorry wasn't sure which sectiont o post it... But than yeah I didn't download the File from Kazaalite, I dl'ed from BitTorrent... So yeah, I don't know.. But I will gvie your Program a Try.
    Credits to ChuNaku,Kazearashi,Kennethzzz,Kiyocchi,S4ku,Tanakachi and Tubster68:

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    Sounds like an mpeg copied from a VCD. Try changing the extension to .mpg and see if your video software can open it.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    LilAznAccommodator's Avatar Celestial Seraph
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    California
    Age
    29
    Posts
    475
    It is okays, I got it to work, Thanks Manker for the VLC Program, it helped, but I didn't really like how when I try to Skip Intro it freezes, the Sound/ audio works but the Video just freezes there... ANyway yeah got problem solved, thanks.
    Credits to ChuNaku,Kazearashi,Kennethzzz,Kiyocchi,S4ku,Tanakachi and Tubster68:

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    manker's Avatar effendi
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    I wear an Even Steven wit
    Posts
    44,031
    Originally posted by LilAznAccommodator@11 July 2004 - 23:26
    It is okays, I got it to work, Thanks Manker for the VLC Program, it helped, but I didn't really like how when I try to Skip Intro it freezes, the Sound/ audio works but the Video just freezes there... ANyway yeah got problem solved, thanks.
    glad you got it sorted
    I plan on beating him to death with his kids. I'll use them as a bludgeon on his face. -

    --Good for them if they survive.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    did the freezing get fixed, or were you just referring to opening the file being fixed?

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    LilAznAccommodator's Avatar Celestial Seraph
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    California
    Age
    29
    Posts
    475
    The Freezing occurs when I try to Scan to a certain spot of the Movie..
    Credits to ChuNaku,Kazearashi,Kennethzzz,Kiyocchi,S4ku,Tanakachi and Tubster68:

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •