Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Is This A Problem?

  1. #1
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    I got an old/cheap ECS K7SEM motherboard to run the Athlon 1.4ghz cpu. At first it said the speed was 1.002ghz or something on the startup dialog, so I went into the bios and manually set the cpu bus setting to something like 133mhz/133mhz/33mhz < not sure on the 3rd one, but each setting had 3 values in one (maybe the others were for RAM and such). Anyways, the computer now runs the chip at it&#39;s normal 1.4ghz speed, but the heat is allways around 57-60 C on the CPU. It might even go 61-63 on heavy proccessing, but I&#39;m sure it shall stay under 65 C.. plus I even set the computer to automaticly shutdown at 65C. Would you say this lil newbie overclock or whatever is gonna burn the computer up? The fan on the CPU was the fan reccomened fan that came in the Retail AMD CPU box.

    btw, already updated the board to the latest bios as well.&#092;


    I was asking since I use a Amd 2500 Barton CPU on a Gigabyte GA-7VT600 1394 motherboard with a CPU temp rangeing from 49C-58C according to MotherBoardMoniter 5. not a huge difference I suppose.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    My Mom&#39;s eMachines 2200 has idled at 53c for a couple of years now.
    I once installed MBM5, but had to remove it...too painful to look at, but the PC doesn&#39;t seem to care at all.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    What kind of case ventilation is there. Perhaps adding a case fan would be a good idea?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    The old Athlon chips ran a lot hotter than the later XP versions, your temps don&#39;t sound too excessive. I think the older chips were ok up to about 85C, although I wouldn&#39;t recommend running at that temp for long.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    seems to be running well.. i&#39;ll update if anything comes up.
    thanks

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    I would try to get it lower.

    People around here lately have been just saying that as long as it runs it is ok, but i still wouldn&#39;t feel ok with anything that high.

    Add a case fna or something, you can get one from an old power supply if you want.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    can I curse? FUCK!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,295
    Lol.. I have 4 case fans and my athlon 2600+ is still running at 56C or so on idle.. and runs at 60 at full load, I&#39;m going to apply arctic silver to it to see if it does anything but I don&#39;t know how&#33; hahaha

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Originally posted by Shiranai_Baka@12 July 2004 - 15:03
    Lol.. I have 4 case fans and my athlon 2600+ is still running at 56C or so on idle.. and runs at 60 at full load, I&#39;m going to apply arctic silver to it to see if it does anything but I don&#39;t know how&#33; hahaha
    Hmmm my P4 2.4 533FSB runs @ 20 - 35 idle.
    3 case fans. I heard that Athlons run hotter unless you replace the stock HSF.
    <span style='font-size:14pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:red'><span style='font-familyptima'>&gt;&gt;FORUM&lt;&lt;</span></span></span>

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by haha21+13 July 2004 - 01:48--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (haha21 @ 13 July 2004 - 01:48)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Shiranai_Baka@12 July 2004 - 15:03
    Lol.. I have 4 case fans and my athlon 2600+ is still running at 56C or so on idle.. and runs at 60 at full load, I&#39;m going to apply arctic silver to it to see if it does anything but I don&#39;t know how&#33; hahaha
    Hmmm my P4 2.4 533FSB runs @ 20 - 35 idle.
    3 case fans. I heard that Athlons run hotter unless you replace the stock HSF. [/b][/quote]
    Not true.

    Just that the athlon runs hotter, not ebcuase of the heatsink.

    Look at my temp, running stock heatsink.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    just got an athlon 2500 cpu and the Stock HSF was really quiet&#33; I sometimes dont even know if it&#39;s on or not. then i move the mouse, and it is&#33;

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •