Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Amd Semprons

  1. #1
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    What are they and can I put the socket A ones in my pc? Are they supoose to be better than bartons
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    It is a cut-down version of the 754-pin AMD64, but only 256KB L2 cache and 64-bit instructions disabled.

    Test results submitted indicate that AMD Sempron 3100+ central processing unit is the is just 2.1% slower in 3DMark 2001SE, 0.4% slower in Superpi, 4.4% faster in Prime95, only 1.2% slower in PCMark 2004 and only 4.5% slower in CPUMark 99 compared to the AMD Athlon 64 2800+ which runs at the same clock-speed. The benchmark results are likely to be higher compared to AMD Athlon XP 3000+ processor, which has enough muscle to outperform forthcoming Intel Celeron 340 (3.00GHz) processor.
    I thought the numbers were supposed to show relative performance, so why does a Sempron 3100+ run just about like a Athlon64 2800+ which is better than a XP3000+?
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    Originally posted by lynx@16 July 2004 - 10:57
    I thought the numbers were supposed to show relative performance, so why does a Sempron 3100+ run just about like a Athlon64 2800+ which is better than a XP3000+?
    cause theyre not all relavant to the same thing.........
    great FTP site for awesome quality video clips
    yeah, you have to sign up, but its worth it

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    bigdawgfoxx's Avatar Big Dawg
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,833
    so a sempron 3100 runs about the same speed as a 64 at 2800....thats pretty good
    [SIZE=1]AMD 4200 X2 @ 2.65Ghz, ASRock 939-VSTA
    1.75GB PC3200, 2 X 160GB Seagate w/ 8MB Buffer
    HIS Radeon X800 Pro, Antec Super Lanboy Aluminum

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Originally posted by Storm+16 July 2004 - 04:24--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Storm @ 16 July 2004 - 04:24)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-lynx@16 July 2004 - 10:57
    I thought the numbers were supposed to show relative performance, so why does a Sempron 3100+ run just about like a Athlon64 2800+ which is better than a XP3000+?
    cause theyre not all relavant to the same thing......... [/b][/quote]
    Quote: The Sempr0n was clocked at 1800 MHz and was still hiding behind the 3100+ marketing stamp .

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    What about the Sempron 2500+ 2600+ and 2800+?
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Originally posted by Storm+16 July 2004 - 12:24--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Storm @ 16 July 2004 - 12:24)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-lynx@16 July 2004 - 10:57
    I thought the numbers were supposed to show relative performance, so why does a Sempron 3100+ run just about like a Athlon64 2800+ which is better than a XP3000+?
    cause theyre not all relavant to the same thing......... [/b][/quote]
    Amd&#39;s processor rating is supposed to be the performance of the equivalent Athlon processor, if one existed.

    In other words an Athlon 1GHz processor would have a performance rating 1000, and an Athlon XP 2500+ should be the equivalent of an Athlon running at 2.5GHz.

    That should mean that all Amd processors using this rating system should have the same performance if they have the same number.

    Have Amd changed the rules without notifying anyone?
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Originally posted by Keikan@17 July 2004 - 01:19
    What about the Sempron 2500+ 2600+ and 2800+?
    What about them?

    If you mean will they fit Socket A, the answer is no, they are all Socket 754
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Keikan's Avatar ........
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Edmonton (Not Enfield)
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,771
    Originally posted by lynx+17 July 2004 - 10:55--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (lynx @ 17 July 2004 - 10:55)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Keikan@17 July 2004 - 01:19
    What about the Sempron 2500+ 2600+ and 2800+?
    What about them?

    If you mean will they fit Socket A, the answer is no, they are all Socket 754 [/b][/quote]
    The AnAndTech lies...

    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...oc.aspx?i=2083
    Ohh noo!!! I make dribbles!!!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Anandtech may be right, I hadn&#39;t seen that article before.

    The article I found could just as easily have been wrong. I didn&#39;t keep the link so I can&#39;t remember where it was.

    Edit: Found the original article here. But if you follow the link to their original story you get a completely different picture.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •