Your Ad Here Your Ad Here

View Poll Results: Do you connect your CD-ROM Audio out to your sound card?

Voters
30. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes - Analog out

    6 20.00%
  • Yes - Digital out

    1 3.33%
  • No

    23 76.67%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Do You Connect Your CD-ROM Audio Out To

  1. #1
    Rat Faced's Avatar Broken
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Newcasil
    Age
    52
    Posts
    9,076
    As requested...

    An It Harm None, Do What You Will

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Chewie's Avatar Chew E. Bakke
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,883
    I do connect the analogue audio, but I've never needed to use it as I haven't had any trouble with digital extraction.
    There isn't a bargepole long enough for me to work on [a Sony Viao] - clocker 2008

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Barbarossa's Avatar mostly harmless
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Over here!
    Posts
    19,631
    It's connected... but I don't know why.....

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    I used to before I got XP, no point now.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    No, I don't.
    At first I didn't know you were supposed to, but since I've never had any problems I don't see any point in starting now.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Originally posted by clocker@22 July 2004 - 13:17
    No, I don't.
    At first I didn't know you were supposed to, but since I've never had any problems I don't see any point in starting now.
    You've always used XP?

    XP doesn't use the analogue channel, so there's no need to connect it.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Yup.
    I am a nOOb.
    Only turned on my first PC two years ago.
    "I am the one who knocks."- Heisenberg

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    I donít because I find the CD-ROM adds to much noise (through the sound card).

    Anyways, Anyone here ever tried digital out. I have yet to see one connect like that.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Originally posted by Ariel_001@22 July 2004 - 13:41
    I donít because I find the CD-ROM adds to much noise (through the sound card).

    Anyways, Anyone here ever tried digital out. I have yet to see one connect like that.
    I've never even seen a sound card with a connector for the digital out, or a cable to use it for that matter.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    it is not connected in my main PC. but i use my second one for game emulators and i finally found a reason to connect the analogue cable in that one: Magic Engine requires it in order to play the CDDA in PC Engine CD-Rom games. dunno why. it just does. (yes, according to both the emu's author and my own fiddling around with it... i'm not drunk or anything. )

    WinXP can use the analogue connection from a CD-Rom. it's just unnecessary with like 99.99999% of modern Windows programs.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •