Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: What Region Is The Philips Dvp642 ?

  1. #1
    worldpease's Avatar always annoying
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tj Mexico
    Posts
    1,430
    Hello everybody,
    this question comes as a derivated
    of my last post on this forum (about
    updating the Philips DVD)..

    here in Tijuana(Mexico), there is
    a thing with DVD Players,
    I´ve seen that some DVDs only play movies
    that are rated on a ¨Region¨, for example,
    ´A DVD that only plays ¨Region 4¨ movies,´
    Ok, that´s what worries me,
    cus Im going to buy my Philips DVD (DVP642)
    right accros the border, on WalMart(SanDiegoCa, US).
    So, If somebody could tell me what ¨Region¨
    it plays...

    Thank you,
    for this and all the other times
    you have helped me!

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    I'd say 1, because thats the standard here.
    ...

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    muchspl2
    Guest
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks.ph...hilips+DVP+642

    Region code and Macrovision hack posted by divuer, April 20 2004:
    - Open the tray.
    - On your remote press '0000'.
    - Press '0' to make it region free or whichever zone you want to set it to.
    - The newly selected region will appear on the top left corner of the screen.
    - Close the tray.

    BTW the player appears to be macrovision free out of the box!

    *** and some folks want to charge $120 for this! LOL ***
    *** Buy this unit for $70 and do it yourself!!! ***

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    from the US it will be region 1.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    muchspl2
    Guest
    but it really doesn't matter if you make it region free

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Joakim Agren's Avatar Superman loves P2P
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    38
    Posts
    409
    Hello!

    To make your player Multiregion use the following hack:

    1. Turn on the player.
    2. Open the tray.
    3. Press the following sequence on the remote:
    7 8 9 OK 0
    4. The number 0 will appear on the lower left side of your screen.
    5. Your player is now region free! Put in a DVD and enjoy!

    NOTE: The 0 in the sequence above represents the region code. 0 = region free. If you want to change your player to just a specific region code, replace the 0 with the region number you want.


    Sincerely Joakim Agren!

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Joakim Agren's Avatar Superman loves P2P
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    38
    Posts
    409
    Originally posted by muchspl2@24 July 2004 - 03:44
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks.ph...hilips+DVP+642

    Region code and Macrovision hack posted by divuer, April 20 2004:
    - Open the tray.
    - On your remote press '0000'.
    - Press '0' to make it region free or whichever zone you want to set it to.
    - The newly selected region will appear on the top left corner of the screen.
    - Close the tray.

    BTW the player appears to be macrovision free out of the box!

    *** and some folks want to charge $120 for this! LOL ***
    *** Buy this unit for $70 and do it yourself!!! ***
    Hello!

    That hack does not work for DVP642!


    Sincerely Joakim Agren!

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    muchspl2
    Guest
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks.ph...hilips+DVP+642

    one of them will, thats why i posted the link

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    worldpease's Avatar always annoying
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Tj Mexico
    Posts
    1,430
    Of cours,
    What was I thinking?...

    Ok, but, is there risk that I might ruin it?
    and end up with nothing in the end?

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Joakim Agren's Avatar Superman loves P2P
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    38
    Posts
    409
    Originally posted by muchspl2@24 July 2004 - 03:56
    http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks.ph...hilips+DVP+642

    one of them will, thats why i posted the link
    Hello!

    Yes one of them will!

    The one I posted seems to be the one that works for most people and it is also on your link!


    Sincerely Joakim Agren!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •