Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Upgrading To Windows 2000 From 98

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    319
    here are the pecs

    Pentium 2 - 350
    160Mb ram
    6 Gb hardrive

    already some programs on it and files

    can it support windows 2000 ?

    i ask this question as my brother has this computer and bought an mp3 player which is usb, the pc wont see it, its odd as he had both a router and web cam - both usb - that work fine on the system. I did format the PC 2 weeks ago but even after reinstalling the drivers it wont see it.

    I used a recovery disk which had its own version of win 98 on it, i have a feeling its not SE - but surely the other usb devices wont work?

    anyways i cant see a copy of 98 SE on the net, only 2000 and it seems the better OS
    <span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:blue'><span style='font-family:Arial'>AMD 2600
    512 DDR RAM
    160GB HDD
    GeForce 5600 FX 256mb
    Sony DVD writer +/-
    Windows XP</span></span>
    <span style='color:red'><span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>Bit torrent client - ABC</span></span></span>

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Regular Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    935
    yep go for the install of windows 2000.

    offical minimum requirments to run 2000 are here

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Originally posted by chinook_apache@31 July 2004 - 07:56
    yep go for the install of windows 2000.

    offical minimum requirments to run 2000 are here
    Ya more support as well , take note tho.

    At least 64 megabytes (MB) of RAM; more memory generally improves responsiveness.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Originally posted by bilko@31 July 2004 - 10:43
    here are the pecs

    Pentium 2 - 350
    160Mb ram
    6 Gb hardrive

    already some programs on it and files

    can it support windows 2000 ?

    i ask this question as my brother has this computer and bought an mp3 player which is usb, the pc wont see it, its odd as he had both a router and web cam - both usb - that work fine on the system. I did format the PC 2 weeks ago but even after reinstalling the drivers it wont see it.

    I used a recovery disk which had its own version of win 98 on it, i have a feeling its not SE - but surely the other usb devices wont work?

    anyways i cant see a copy of 98 SE on the net, only 2000 and it seems the better OS
    Sure go for it my son has a system with win 2000 on it 400 mhz celeron 96 mb ram ,6g hd...He has a dvdrom in it and it plays dvd&#39;s ...I consider it the best 15&#036;Can. I ever spent..On a side note you will notice win 2000 does not have msconfig.. you may wish to download it ...Also the reason the mp3 player didn&#39;t work in win 98 is because it needs a specific driver for it (I had the same problem with a generic external usb mini hd .It took many attempts at finding a driver that would work from drivers.com)

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    Originally posted by accat13@1 August 2004 - 02:15
    I ever spent..On a side note you will notice win 2000 does not have msconfig.. you may wish to download it ...
    Never ever shut down RPC tho&#39;.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    319
    u gotta be joking about the no msconfig option, its a must have considering the junk that can start up with a PC

    ok well i used my last cd-r to put a copy of Windows 98 SE and try it out, i put it in the drive, it started up and prompted,a newer version of windows detected would you like to install..... i said yes and blam&#33; blue screen stating a windows error, groovy - why is this happening - i had tears

    well i have the win 2000 pro copy and will give it a go when i get hold of a cd-r
    damn it i hate the wait, im so low on money, i hope poundland has some in stock
    <span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:blue'><span style='font-family:Arial'>AMD 2600
    512 DDR RAM
    160GB HDD
    GeForce 5600 FX 256mb
    Sony DVD writer +/-
    Windows XP</span></span>
    <span style='color:red'><span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>Bit torrent client - ABC</span></span></span>

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Snee's Avatar Error xɐʇuʎs BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    on something.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,677
    It&#39;s prolly not a good idea to just install win2k on top of win98, I thought you&#39;d format and possible repartition first. I hope you do when it&#39;s time for that.

    Win2k should preferably run on ntfs, whereas win98 runs on FAT 32.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    I have installed windows xp and disabled all the fancy stuff on it and it would run better than windows 2000. I would install XP fresh if possible but if not just upgrade to xp.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    319
    ok well im gonna format and install at the weekend but im a little unsure
    i can format ok and if i make PC boot to cdrom and have the windows SE disk in there will it prompt me to install and kinda do it all

    before i&#39;ve always had a recovery disk that came with the PC
    <span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'><span style='color:blue'><span style='font-family:Arial'>AMD 2600
    512 DDR RAM
    160GB HDD
    GeForce 5600 FX 256mb
    Sony DVD writer +/-
    Windows XP</span></span>
    <span style='color:red'><span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>Bit torrent client - ABC</span></span></span>

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Originally posted by bilko@3 August 2004 - 01:28
    ok well im gonna format and install at the weekend but im a little unsure
    i can format ok and if i make PC boot to cdrom and have the windows SE disk in there will it prompt me to install and kinda do it all

    before i&#39;ve always had a recovery disk that came with the PC
    use the windows 2000 or windows xp disk to install not the windows SE disk unless you want to install windows 98 again.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •