Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Doom 1 & 2

  1. #1
    threelions00's Avatar on a shirt... BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    838
    i downloaded a game off suprnova which is meant to be a revised edition of doom 1 and 2 but it doesn't work for some reason. anyone else tried downloading this and successfully getting it to work?

  2. Games   -   #2
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Originally posted by threelions00@4 August 2004 - 01:23
    i downloaded a game off suprnova which is meant to be a revised edition of doom 1 and 2 but it doesn't work for some reason. anyone else tried downloading this and successfully getting it to work?
    Doom remake?

  3. Games   -   #3
    (>Zero Cool<)'s Avatar he is Spartacus!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    about four feet that way......no the other way
    Posts
    3,103
    Originally posted by threelions00@4 August 2004 - 05:23
    i downloaded a game off suprnova which is meant to be a revised edition of doom 1 and 2 but it doesn&#39;t work for some reason. anyone else tried downloading this and successfully getting it to work?
    what kind of problems are you getting?

    have you tried searching for patches to run on your OS, a lot of older games need patches to work.?

    If you tell me your spec and the file you got I&#39;ll try and help

    btw It&#39;s scary when you look at how far things have come since then,

  4. Games   -   #4
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    If it is Doom Remake (Doom in modern 3d), look for info here.

  5. Games   -   #5
    threelions00's Avatar on a shirt... BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    838
    @Zero...i got it from suprnova...should be the only one on there of doom 1 and 2 and it was developed by yourlost.com or something.

    my machine is

    3.2GHz Pentium 4
    512 MB DDR
    Geforce FX5500

    it downloaded as a rar file and i have done the necessaries but when it comes to playing it, it asks firstly for a file called DOOM.WAD

    it gives me the choice of finding it myself or letting the pc find it...

    neither myself or the pc can find it.

    i have explored the directory and found a little message saying "All WAD, LMP, PK3 and ZIP files in this directory will be automatically loaded at startup."

    My ass.

    anything else u need to know?

  6. Games   -   #6
    You can buy these old games in the uk under 10 for all the old Doom games

  7. Games   -   #7
    (>Zero Cool<)'s Avatar he is Spartacus!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    about four feet that way......no the other way
    Posts
    3,103
    Originally posted by threelions00@4 August 2004 - 08:05
    @Zero...i got it from suprnova...should be the only one on there of doom 1 and 2 and it was developed by yourlost.com or something.

    my machine is

    3.2GHz Pentium 4
    512 MB DDR
    Geforce FX5500

    it downloaded as a rar file and i have done the necessaries but when it comes to playing it, it asks firstly for a file called DOOM.WAD

    it gives me the choice of finding it myself or letting the pc find it...

    neither myself or the pc can find it.

    i have explored the directory and found a little message saying "All WAD, LMP, PK3 and ZIP files in this directory will be automatically loaded at startup."

    My ass.

    anything else u need to know?
    ehm how to fix it would be good

  8. Games   -   #8
    threelions00's Avatar on a shirt... BT Rep: +12BT Rep +12BT Rep +12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    838
    i am now having a ganders at your lost.com...finding some answers...

    my final conclusion is this....sod it, i work nights, its the morning, i am tired, i&#39;m going to bed...and i&#39;ll just get doom 3, no point retreading old ground....

    loads of people had probs with it...why oh why redevelop it but not to perfection? like recreating the battle of hastings but instead of using bows and arrows, using machine guns...take the point of it out. just don&#39;t work.

  9. Games   -   #9
    (>Zero Cool<)'s Avatar he is Spartacus!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    about four feet that way......no the other way
    Posts
    3,103
    I found this

    click

    might help you?

  10. Games   -   #10
    1 Go here and download both the Doomsday engine and the 3D models you want.

    2 Download the original *.WAD files for Doom I/II (either look for them in your folder or download the original Doom)

    3 Follow the manual.

    It worked brilliantly on a P4 with Win XP.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •