Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Wtf With My New Internet Connection

  1. #1
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,563
    I just got this new internet service from rogers, supposed to be 5 MBPS, when i do a test in any bandwidth meter the results are amazing i get 3.4 MB and sometimes i get 5.3mb and stuff, the web pages load REALLY fast, every web page, BUT when i try to download using Kazaa or Bittorrent i cant get past 26 Kb/sec , i 've tried everything, maybe i have to change something or maybe this assholes have the ports blocked, can somebody help me?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    its 5mbps if u buy their modem...

    or its the regular 3

    and if u did buy the modem... try tweaking ur isp

    and test ur speeds at www.dslreports.com and do a tweak test

    also rogers does not gurantee u will get the exact speeds advertised


    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Filliz's Avatar ______________
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,577
    Maybe the people you were connected to simply aren't capable of uploading faster then 26KB/s?

    Try dl'ing something through newsgroups.

    hmm...asspie

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,563
    Originally posted by jaigandhi5@10 August 2004 - 13:34
    its 5mbps if u buy their modem...

    or its the regular 3

    and if u did buy the modem... try tweaking ur isp

    and test ur speeds at www.dslreports.com and do a tweak test

    also rogers does not gurantee u will get the exact speeds advertised

    Ok i did the tweak tests and this are the results:

    http://ttester.broadbandreports.com/tweak/...inXP&via=normal

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    harrycary's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Omaha, Ne USA
    Posts
    1,078
    your isp is probably throttling back the ports that Kazaa and even the ports your bittorrent client is using.

    i use the bittornado client and it allows you to change the ports.

    regards,

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,563
    Originally posted by harrycary@10 August 2004 - 23:02
    your isp is probably throttling back the ports that Kazaa and even the ports your bittorrent client is using.

    i use the bittornado client and it allows you to change the ports.

    regards,
    I use bittornado too, what ports should i use?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    blank BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,068
    nething. pick a range
    Shut that cuntís mouth or Iíll come over there and fuckstart her head.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,563
    Originally posted by hungrylilboy@11 August 2004 - 00:15
    nething. pick a range
    whatever port i want?

    how about 80 to 90?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Originally posted by Cygnuz&#045;Y+11 August 2004 - 01:41--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Cygnuz&#045;Y &#064; 11 August 2004 - 01:41)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-hungrylilboy@11 August 2004 - 00:15
    nething. pick a range
    whatever port i want?

    how about 80 to 90? [/b][/quote]
    Not that low, they will be reserved for other services. Try 54321 to 54329.

    Edit: interesting that the broadband report didn&#39;t seem to think there was much wrong in getting 1.3Mbps on an advertised 5Mbps service. I don&#39;t think I&#39;d be trusting that report too much.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,563
    Originally posted by lynx+11 August 2004 - 00:46--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (lynx &#064; 11 August 2004 - 00:46)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
    Originally posted by Cygnuz&#045;Y@11 August 2004 - 01:41
    <!--QuoteBegin-hungrylilboy
    @11 August 2004 - 00:15
    nething. pick a range

    whatever port i want?

    how about 80 to 90?
    Not that low, they will be reserved for other services. Try 54321 to 54329.

    Edit: interesting that the broadband report didn&#39;t seem to think there was much wrong in getting 1.3Mbps on an advertised 5Mbps service. I don&#39;t think I&#39;d be trusting that report too much. [/b][/quote]
    yeah im kind of wondering cuz when i download something off the net using flashget i can get up to 750Kb/sec of speed but i keep having this problem with kazaa and bittorrent, im gonna try switching to those ports, thanks....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •