Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Nvidia Geforce 6800 Gt

  1. #1
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Was reading tonite , probably over my head. I have an ATI but would this sway anyone to Nvidia?


    http://www.maxpc.co.uk/reviews/default.asp...ubsectionid=493

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    571
    The 6800 series looks very promising. I'm thinking of getting either the regular 6800 or the GT, if they become easier to buy. I hear the GT is hard to get a hold of.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    nVIDIA ownz!

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    abu_has_the_power's Avatar I have cool stars
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,503
    the gt plays doom 3 at 1600x1200 ultra high with highest aa and af at playable fps. that's pretty beastly. but there's not point of getting it if there's not games that support pixel shader 3

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Darth Sushi's Avatar Sushi Lord
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Corisant
    Posts
    5,813
    Originally posted by peat moss@14 August 2004 - 02:51
    Was reading tonite , probably over my head. I have an ATI but would this sway anyone to Nvidia?
    I sway every time each company releases a new card.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Lick My Lovepump
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    15
    Posts
    2,698
    Originally posted by abu_has_the_power@14 August 2004 - 07:20
    the gt plays doom 3 at 1600x1200 ultra high with highest aa and af at playable fps. that's pretty beastly. but there's not point of getting it if there's not games that support pixel shader 3
    Jesus you are such an idiot. Yes there is point of getting Pixel Shader 3. Whats the point in buying a card to find it can't even play the games released 6 months from now, or you could but this card and at least get to play the games with moderate performance.

    Don't but one with PS3.0 if you're only going to play games released from today backwards.


    I say wait till Half Life 2. I reckon Ati will probably have better HL2 performance, but nVidia will have better Doom 3 performance. It'll be your choice then, but if nVidia owns Doom 3 still (i.e. Ati hasn't fixed drivers) and just about draws on Half Life 2, get a PS3.0 nVidia, for fucks sake don't listen to these brand loyalists and screw yourself over.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Lick My Lovepump
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Age
    15
    Posts
    2,698
    Originally posted by abu_has_the_power@14 August 2004 - 07:20
    the gt plays doom 3 at 1600x1200 ultra high with highest aa and af at playable fps. that's pretty beastly. but there's not point of getting it if there's not games that support pixel shader 3
    It can't play on Ultra can it? Thats 512mb video memory only.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Originally posted by Mad Cat+14 August 2004 - 03:37--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Mad Cat @ 14 August 2004 - 03:37)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-abu_has_the_power@14 August 2004 - 07:20
    the gt plays doom 3 at 1600x1200 ultra high with highest aa and af at playable fps. that&#39;s pretty beastly. but there&#39;s not point of getting it if there&#39;s not games that support pixel shader 3
    It can&#39;t play on Ultra can it? Thats 512mb video memory only. [/b][/quote]
    yup. I remember reading something saying that Doom III has ran fine on a 256mb card at ultra quality. im not sure where i&#39;ve seen it before but I know it was reliable. i think it was posted in the gaming section somwheres.
    Gaint Antispyware is the #1 greatest Spyware/Adware cleaner ever created, I recomend it to everybody, even if you don't think you need it.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    cpt_azad's Avatar Colonel
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Surrey, BC
    Posts
    6,741
    Originally posted by Mad Cat+14 August 2004 - 00:37--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Mad Cat @ 14 August 2004 - 00:37)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-abu_has_the_power@14 August 2004 - 07:20
    the gt plays doom 3 at 1600x1200 ultra high with highest aa and af at playable fps. that&#39;s pretty beastly. but there&#39;s not point of getting it if there&#39;s not games that support pixel shader 3
    It can&#39;t play on Ultra can it? Thats 512mb video memory only. [/b][/quote]
    wat the fuck u talkin about? the 6800 card(s) can handle ultra easily for doom3 even if the textures are uncompressed REACHING as high as 500 mb, not 512. y not head over to planetdoom.com forums and check it out for urself, my 6800 still hasn&#39;t come in yet and i ordered more than 2 weeks ago from a canadian retailer too as for PS3.0, it&#39;s ur choice of whether or not u want the card for future games, remember the golden rule: once it&#39;s out of the box it&#39;s old.

    Jeff Loomis: He's so good, he doesn't need to be dead to have a tribute.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    mr. nails's Avatar m@D @n!m3 BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    austin, tx
    Posts
    3,588
    sure, they can handle the ultra setting, but u won&#39;t get an ultra setting out of it. u WILL need 512mb of vid ram for that.
    Alamo Drafthouse!

    Last Game Completed: Aliens: Colonial Marines (PC) 10-13-13
    Now Playing: Paper Mario 64
    Total Games Completed: 503

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •