Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: .mov Or D/l?

  1. #1
    VIP...just ask any
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in a box, in an alley
    Posts
    100
    I have a macromedia flash tutorial, in the form of .mov. The sound is really crappy, sounds like the dude is underwater, very shaky.
    I have the latest Quick Time for viewing it, so my guess is.............several, but not sure how to fix it. The owner told me it runs fine. I would get it again, but it's huge, and I don't want to waste my time if it's going to come this way again.

    Could it have been damaged via transfer?

    Is that common for .mov's after transfer?

    Can I fix it with some type of software?

    Can I covert it to another format, and try a different viewer?

    Any help would be appreciated....

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Vargas's Avatar gone fishin'
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    the poopdeck
    Posts
    1,937
    i would try to play it with media player classic, it plays MOV files and uses less CPU then QT.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    Originally posted by Vargas@14 August 2004 - 16:29
    i would try to play it with media player classic, it plays MOV files and uses less CPU then QT.
    yup try that.
    maybe you have alot of memory in use. that can cause lag

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    VIP...just ask any
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in a box, in an alley
    Posts
    100
    Originally posted by Vargas@14 August 2004 - 14:29
    i would try to play it with media player classic, it plays MOV files and uses less CPU then QT.
    yah man .....worked perfectly using media player, Thanx fellers!!

    *makes note to self, not to use quicktime for anytin

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    VIP...just ask any
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in a box, in an alley
    Posts
    100
    OK....WTF???? it worked fine this morning, but now it's back to the lag issues. I haven't added or changed a thing. I have run ad-aware and spyblaster to see if there is anything draining my ram. I have 1.26 GB of ram, you'd think that would be enough....

    Any Ideas how to get this fkn' thing running again?
    Classic Media Player ran it fine this morning. won't run on windows media due to it being a .mov

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Vargas's Avatar gone fishin'
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    the poopdeck
    Posts
    1,937
    how full or fragmented is your HD?
    BTW dragging the mov onto internet explorer is another way to save ram over running QT

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    VIP...just ask any
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    in a box, in an alley
    Posts
    100
    Originally posted by Vargas@17 August 2004 - 02:21
    how full or fragmented is your HD?
    BTW dragging the mov onto internet explorer is another way to save ram over running QT
    well, the drive that contains the viewing and the actual tutorial is 5% fragmented, but another drive is 17%. I'll defrag all the drives....might be the 17% is still laging me out.

    btw....I didn't know about viewing mov's thru IE.... thanks again

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •