Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: Memory Tweak...

  1. #1
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Windows XP Memory:
    These Settings will fine tune your systems memory

    management -atleast 256MB of ram recccomended

    go to start\run\regedit -and then to the following key

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management

    1.DisablePagingExecutive -double click it and in the decimal put a 1 - this allows XP to keep data in memory now instead of paging sections of ram to harddrive yeilds faster performance.

    2.LargeSystemCache- double click it and change the decimal to 1 -this allows XP Kernal to Run in memory improves system performance alot

    3.create a new dword and name it IOPageLockLimit - double click it and set the value in hex - 4000 if you have 128MB of ram or set it to 10000 if you have 256MB set it to 40000 if you have more than 512MB of ram -this tweak will speed up your disckcache

    Reboot and watch your system fly ..happy tweakin

    I Got this information from here.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    maskawaih's Avatar Custom User Title BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Age
    33
    Posts
    713
    is it ok if i do this over windows 2000? or win 98?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    i did those tweaks yesterday read it somewhere else but i never got a chance to try it...after applying the next time i restarted was to format.


    anyway thanks for reminding me to try them again.

    and @maskawaih, the guide i read was for windows xp and 2000 so for 2000 it should be fine.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    ill do this when i format, which is hopefully this week

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    I just tried the tweak for the 128mb iof ram and it didn't speed my pc up at all can any one help with this? also i am running windows xp corp with sp 2.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Originally posted by DarkNess4Ever@18 August 2004 - 22:45
    I just tried the tweak for the 128mb iof ram and it didn't speed my pc up at all can any one help with this?* also i am running windows xp corp with sp 2.
    Read the first post carefully. It says atleast 256mb ram reccommended. I'm sure it helped you out but not much.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    oic i must have just missed that part sry.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Originally posted by DarkNess4Ever@18 August 2004 - 21:54
    oic i must have just missed that part sry.
    might have actually made it worse...i think u should change it back.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    silent h3ro's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +9BT Rep +9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Detroit
    Age
    27
    Posts
    4,461
    Originally posted by ROSSCO_2004+18 August 2004 - 23:07--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (ROSSCO_2004 @ 18 August 2004 - 23:07)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-DarkNess4Ever@18 August 2004 - 21:54
    oic i must have just missed that part sry.
    might have actually made it worse...i think u should change it back. [/b][/quote]
    3.create a new dword and name it IOPageLockLimit - double click it and set the value in hex - 4000 if you have 128MB of ram or set it to 10000 if you have 256MB set it to 40000 if you have more than 512MB of ram -this tweak will speed up your disckcache
    You should only do step 3, DarkNess4Ever...

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Ok i just changed it do i change it to hex and number 0? is that right?

Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •