Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Weird Problems...HELP!!!

  1. #1
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    well just bought a

    ECS P4VXAD+
    P4 2.4Ghz B
    512DDR PC 3200 Samsung
    32MB ATI 7000
    40gb Maxtor

    its for a friend and i got a really good deal everything for 300$ CDN

    so i install everything etc...

    and when i try to install windows it gives weird missing file errors or BSOD its the kind of errors u would get when u either:
    1. overclocked ur cpu too much
    2. voltage is too high or too low
    3. overclocked memory too much
    4. voltage for memory is high or too low

    well i have had all of these symptoms on my computer and i just clocked back to original speed and installed windows fine after...

    but i didnt overclock this computer AT ALL the mobo doesnt support overclocking....

    so first i thought it was the hdd....so i took out the hdd and put it in a p3 and worked perfectly...
    next thought the memory slot was messed up....changed slot and still giving problems..
    next i thought it was bad ram...so i took tried in my computer ran perfectly at 200mhz so its not the ram...
    so then i checked the mobo website and saw an update for the bios saying it fixes some stability issues....
    so i updated to the latest one still no luck...

    now here i am stuck...i am fresh out of ideas and in need of ur help...

    btw i also tried switching cd-rom drives still didnt work...

    each bsod is diff some are bad_pool_caller some are IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQAL some are diff...and i cant install windows because it either goes bsod or it gives me copying errors....and the files are always different as i said they are overclocking symtoms but i have not overclocked at all....

    HELP need to get this pc up and running...

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    It is the gremlins. Have you fooled around with anything in the bios? Accidentally, or on purpose?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    Quote Originally Posted by orcutt989
    It is the gremlins. Have you fooled around with anything in the bios? Accidentally, or on purpose?
    nope nothing tried reseting the cmos...

    but i think i found the problem...the vcore is at 1.45...

    # Intel® Pentium IV Northwood 2.4GHz (18x133FSB (Quad-pumped))
    # Intel® NetBurst™ Micro-architecture
    # 0.13 micron manufacturing process, 131 / 146mm˛ die sizes
    # 8kb of L1 data cache, 12kb of L1 trace execution cache
    # 512kb of L2 advanced transfer cache
    # Copper interconnects
    # 100FSB, Quad-pumped to 400MHz
    # 55 million transistors (12.2 million added for an extra 256kb cache)
    # 1.5v operating voltage
    # Integrated heat spreader
    # S478 microPGA form factor

    it should be running at 1.5v stupid ecs SUX BALLZ!!

    so then i download the manual and get more confused with this:

    and heres the manual:
    http://www.ecsusa.com/downloads/manu...xadp10aeng.zip

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    fucking smurfland y'idjit
    Posts
    760
    I'd download and run a memor checker such as memtest86, just to eliminate that from enquiries before anything else.

    You can do this while you wait for their Support department to explain JP4 settings in English, rather than have it software-translated from Thai.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    Quote Originally Posted by Smurfette
    I'd download and run a memor checker such as memtest86, just to eliminate that from enquiries before anything else.

    You can do this while you wait for their Support department to explain JP4 settings in English, rather than have it software-translated from Thai.
    well its not memory i tried different memory and it didnt work...

    im like 95% sure its the vcore....but the jumpers are soo confusing :S

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    fucking smurfland y'idjit
    Posts
    760
    Quote Originally Posted by jaigandhi5
    well its not memory i tried different memory and it didnt work...

    im like 95% sure its the vcore....but the jumpers are soo confusing :S
    OK, you appeared to say you tried the questionable stick in another computer, which may not flag up a bad area whereas a proper tester would.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    Quote Originally Posted by Smurfette
    OK, you appeared to say you tried the questionable stick in another computer, which may not flag up a bad area whereas a proper tester would.
    yes i did that then later i put my 256mb pc2700 in to the computer as well but got the same error

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    bump...plz help..


    My Blog
    I'm still here.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •