Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Upgrades

  1. #1
    I am wanting to get a new processor,motherboard,and memory for around $500-600. Are the products listed below great for my price range or can I get something different that will be around the same speed as the products listed below? With these parts, will I have a really fast computer?

    So far this is the processor I have found : http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-463&depa=1

    Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-469&depa=1

    Memory: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...141-154&depa=1
    <span style='color:blue'><span style='font-family:Arial'>Msi ms-6330
    Amd Athlon at 1ghz
    896mb Ram pc-133
    Seagate 80gb 7,200 rpm
    Nvidia Geforce MX 420
    21 inch screen
    MSI 52X32X52 CD-RW (cr52-m)
    SoundBlaster 5.1 mp3+
    Creative Labs 5.1 Speakers
    Xp Pro Sp1</span></span>

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    S!X's Avatar L33T Member BT Rep: +5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    7,734
    Cool.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    do you really need to upgrade right now???

    if you can wait a lil, id wait till mobo's with a proper PCIx and DDR2 become available, that wont be to long, and your PC will be alot cheaper to upgrade in future..........

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Never heard of that brand of RAM, but I wouldn't touch an MSI board with a barge pole.
    My shop has RMA'd an inordinate percentage of MSI's that we've sold/installed.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by clocker
    Never heard of that brand of RAM, but I wouldn't touch an MSI board with a barge pole.
    My shop has RMA'd an inordinate percentage of MSI's that we've sold/installed.
    Agreed. Get something other than MSI and get a well known memory brand.

    Also, understand that 64bit isn't supported by software yet.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Quote)Also, understand that 64bit isn't supported by software yet<Qoute>


    How long untill software will support it? Would I be better off getting the pentium 4 3.4 ghz?
    <span style='color:blue'><span style='font-family:Arial'>Msi ms-6330
    Amd Athlon at 1ghz
    896mb Ram pc-133
    Seagate 80gb 7,200 rpm
    Nvidia Geforce MX 420
    21 inch screen
    MSI 52X32X52 CD-RW (cr52-m)
    SoundBlaster 5.1 mp3+
    Creative Labs 5.1 Speakers
    Xp Pro Sp1</span></span>

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Wolfmight's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Location: Location:
    Posts
    5,873
    I had a cheap MSI mobo that fried for no apparent reason. (ehh what do ya expect for $40)

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Triadcool
    Quote)Also, understand that 64bit isn't supported by software yet<Qoute>


    How long untill software will support it? Would I be better off getting the pentium 4 3.4 ghz?

    Any Body?
    <span style='color:blue'><span style='font-family:Arial'>Msi ms-6330
    Amd Athlon at 1ghz
    896mb Ram pc-133
    Seagate 80gb 7,200 rpm
    Nvidia Geforce MX 420
    21 inch screen
    MSI 52X32X52 CD-RW (cr52-m)
    SoundBlaster 5.1 mp3+
    Creative Labs 5.1 Speakers
    Xp Pro Sp1</span></span>

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Hmmm... Very tricky question. It really comes down to your own choice.

    You could build a great 64 bit computer now and then later find out that the technology changes to something altogether different that your hardware isn't supported.

    My own personal view is to build a machine that best uses current software and keep costs low. Upgrading when the new stuff comes along. Another option to keep costs down is to build a 32 bit AMD system for now.

    But the choice is ultimately yours. It could work out that building a 64 bit computer now lasts longer but I'm not sure of that.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    clocker's Avatar Shovel Ready
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    15,388
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234

    Also, understand that 64bit isn't supported by software yet.
    Not quite true, VB.
    There is a 64-bit version of Linux available.
    I have a copy and plan on testing it as soon as I get SprocketII ver. 1.0 up and running....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •