Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: How Come My Computer Can Recognize my CPU?

  1. #1
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    well i just finish building my computer but my computer cant Recognize my CPU and just puts it as a unknown CPU at 800MHz... is there anyway for my comp to Recognize it?

    i got a AMD Athlon XP 2600 Mobile

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    259
    Check the BIOS and see what it says there.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    the answer is friggin abviouse... the same thing, it doesen't Recognize it...

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    fucking smurfland y'idjit
    Posts
    760
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkeee
    the answer is friggin abviouse... the same thing, it doesen't Recognize it...
    Why is it obvious? Are you being a twat on purpose?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    If you want help, you'll need to post more information.

    What is the motherboard?

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Spicker's Avatar AKA jaigandhi5 BT Rep: +7BT Rep +7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,484
    Some motherboards cant reconize M cpus my nf7-s cant tell what cpu i have....

    if u want to know the frequency download cpu-z

    My Blog
    I'm still here.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Storm's Avatar Poster BT Rep: +3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    crazy skiing monkey
    Posts
    1,350
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkeee
    well i just finish building my computer but my computer cant Recognize my CPU and just puts it as a unknown CPU at 800MHz... is there anyway for my comp to Recognize it?

    i got a AMD Athlon XP 2600 Mobile
    you have to set the FSB and (since its a mobile chip) prolly the multiplier to the correct setting.........

    FSB will be 266 for your mobile, and multiplier prolly around 15 (could be 14, or something else around that)

    if those settings are correct it will recognize your CPU........

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    hmmm... if its unrecognize am i still using my CPU to the fullest?

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkeee
    hmmm... if its unrecognize am i still using my CPU to the fullest?
    No, it will be running at the bare minimum. You need to set the speeds manually, for the default for that chip you should set base frequency to 133MHz (sometimes they quote the FSB speed in which case it is double that) and the multiplier to 15 (I think).

    However, I know you are thinking of overclocking, so my advice would be to start with a base frequency of 166MHz (333 FSB) and a multiplier off 11.5, which is the default for the desktop chip. You will eventually exceed these figures anyway so you might as well start nearer your final end point.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Monkeee's Avatar Post Whore
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,453
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    No, it will be running at the bare minimum. You need to set the speeds manually, for the default for that chip you should set base frequency to 133MHz (sometimes they quote the FSB speed in which case it is double that) and the multiplier to 15 (I think).

    However, I know you are thinking of overclocking, so my advice would be to start with a base frequency of 166MHz (333 FSB) and a multiplier off 11.5, which is the default for the desktop chip. You will eventually exceed these figures anyway so you might as well start nearer your final end point.
    lol since this is my first time building a computer and overclocking a CPU and stuff i'm not sure what your telling me lol

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •