Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Bootable XP Disc

  1. #1
    JunkBarMan's Avatar Milk Sucks,Got Beer?
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    597
    I downloaded the
    Microsoft.Windows.XP.Professional.Corporate.incl.SP2-FTFiSO[Filesharingtalk.com].bin
    Microsoft.Windows.XP.Professional.Corporate.incl.SP2-FTFiSO[Filesharingtalk.com].cue
    Microsoft.Windows.XP.Professional.Corporate.incl.SP2-FTFiSO[Filesharingtalk.com].nfo.
    I unrared the bin and burned it to disc. Now why isn't this disc bootable, meaning, why doesn't it go into the windows setup when I turn my comp on? yes I do have the cd drive the first bootable device in my bios. What do I need to do to make this a bootable disc?
    Today is the day.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    fucking smurfland y'idjit
    Posts
    760
    What happens when you start the computer with this CD in the drive?

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Did you burn the .bin file as data or as an image file?

    The .cue file should launch the burning software to burn it the right way.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    JunkBarMan's Avatar Milk Sucks,Got Beer?
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    597
    @smurfette: nothing happens, it loads windows up normally. When I put the disc in the drive when windows is already loaded, the splash screen(if you call it that) comes up with the options of installing, checking system capatability, etc. etc. So the disc seems to be working right.

    @Virtualbody1234 I haven't done it that way you are talking about, because I read the .nfo and it said to unrar and burn it to disc

    "

    Installation notes.:
    --------------------
    1. Unrar (WinRAR 3 final) and burn with CDRwin/Discjuggler/Fireburner
    2. run setup.exe"

    Also, when i used daemon tools and tried to cue it up, it gave me an error.
    Any more thoughts?
    Today is the day.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Retired
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    14,058
    You should choose the .cue with your burning tool

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Go into nero and click recorder>burn image. Point to the .cue file and then burn teh cd. It adds all teh files and stuff which it takes out of the .bin file, and includes the boot info.

    The .nfo file was wrong.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    JunkBarMan's Avatar Milk Sucks,Got Beer?
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    597
    Thanks everyone, that was actually a noobish question of me and I really don't know why I didn't know this all in the first place.
    Anyways, the problem was with the .cue file it was pointing to the wrong path, for some reason it didn't have the [Filesharingtalk.com] in it. A little investing revealed this. Thanks again everyone.
    Today is the day.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •