Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Installing OS on S-ATA Drive

  1. #1
    Skillian's Avatar T H F C f a n BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,806
    I'm building a new system for a friend next week, using a single S-ATA drive which I've not used before. The system won't have a floppy drive, but if I remember rightly I have to install the S-ATA drivers at the start of the installation process by pushing F6.

    Can this be done with a CD, or does it have to be a floppy?

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Yes you can put the drivers on a CD.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Skillian's Avatar T H F C f a n BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,806
    Thanks.

    So when it asks if any additional drivers need to be loaded, just push F6, remove the XP CD and put in the drivers CD right?

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Unfortunately XP will insist that the driver source at installation time is on floppy disk. This is particularly annoying since many systems are now coming without floppy drives. As far as I know there is currently no way round this.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Skillian's Avatar T H F C f a n BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    1,806
    Yeah, I had heard that - seems pretty stupid. If that's right, looks like I'll have to take the floppy out of my comp and install it in his just to install the drivers.

    Thanks lynx.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    I thought I had already done this using a supplied CD. It was quite a whle ago and it was for RAID drivers only (Even that may not be possible. My memory of it is unclear about this).

    I guess I was wrong (first time ).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •