Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Nasa Software - See the World (detailed) from Satalite

  1. #1
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    Copy & Pasted from : http://www.ocukmods.co.uk/showthread...eadid=17293642
    (tried to download it from other sites - this is the only one that worked)
    This is Nasas WorldWind official site : http://learn.arc.nasa.gov/worldwind/
    Enjoy


    ________________________________________________________



    see the article here and here. You get a zoomable map of the world with satellite data up to one pixel per 15metres:eek: :eek: :eek:

    It's amazing...they have all the place names too, of virtually everywhere in the world, and night views, climate change views, clouds, terrain...wow.

    The uber-detailed stuff is taking a while to load due to the slashdotting (and the Landsast7 server is offline, and the 250Mb app download servers are all slashdotted, so I've mirrored it....250Mb download...click here to get it. Enjoy!

    Edit - some more bits and bobs:

    Some high-res still images of the Earth, from another part of the NASA site:

    www.twobeds.com/ev11656_land_shallow_topo_8192.tif

    www.twobeds.com/ev5826_land_lights_16384.tif

    Edit two: The FAQ and lots more answers can be found on their forums, here

    Edit 3: The USGS 1m stuff is working now...select it in the toolbar, zoom in, and in around 30s it will have loaded bits and bobs. The level of detail is amazing - thanks to jmc777 for the headsup

    Another update - from FAQ thread on the forums :
    quote: How do I load the .25 meter resolution maps, as shown in the screenshot of D.C. on this web site?

    From Chris:

    That is actually only accessible under the Layer Manager->Images->High Resoluion Terrain Mapped->USGS Urban Area

    Enable that tree node and disable any other ones that are enabled in that particular list
    EVEN MORE DETAIL! See here. The servers are picking up now...and doing that tweak allows you to distinguish cars from pickups etc : eek :

    CACHE DOWNLOADS

    People have been sharing their cached Landsat7 data - you can simply download it and put it into the NASA\cache directory, and then WW will automatically use it when you navigate to those areas.

    See http://learn.arc.nasa.gov/worldwind...wtopic=227&st=0

    - we're putting together a list of cache downloads + mirrors. It's getting more organised, and will be updated, so check it regularly.

    Or, if you can't be bothered reading through threads, I'll try my best to keep all files on http://www.twobeds.com/nasa
    Download and extract, then place in \program files\NASA\cache.

    The zip/rar/blah file should say where to put things, but you should be able to work it out.




    __________________


    NASA WORLD WIND DOWNLOADS HERE
    -- Patch + much more Landsat7 data available!


    Last edited by 100%; 10-16-2004 at 01:20 PM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    DanB's Avatar Smoke weed everyday
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, so fuck y'all
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,104
    Erm, sounds good but you have confused me with the amount of links to click

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    just clik the "so I've mirrored it....250Mb download...click here to get it. Enjoy!"

    the rest are upgrades - its slow but it gets there
    (cant believe nasa of all places fkd up their server - thats why people are mirroring it

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    259
    Are these images constantly updated?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    For those of you that want real time Satelite tracking data animations go here
    http://www.cira.colostate.edu/ramm/r...ical_menu.html

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    I cant get any detailed stuff. It keeps saying it cannot connect to the server..

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    Read this thread if ytou have questions - http://www.ocukmods.co.uk/showthread...eadid=17293642

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •