Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Hard drive removal question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    22
    Hi all,i have to remove my primary slave hdd to send back to seagate as faulty.I know how to physically take it out but do i have to change any setting in BIOS?

    When i deleted the partitions on it using Disk Management and tried to reboot,my comp wouldnt reboot so i formatted the bad drive(using Acronis Disk Director) and then comp booted up ok.This makes me think that,somewhere after i remove hdd,i have to change something in BIOS,maybe i auto detect?

    Any help i would be very grateful for.Thanks in advance.

    2800AMD Athlon
    DFI Ultra Infinity
    ATI Radeon 9600 Pro
    WDC 80 gig
    Seagate(bad)120 gig
    512mb DDR

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Just disconnect it and try booting. It only takes a few seconds.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    What's wrong with the drive?

    I ask because you say you formatted it.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    RPerry's Avatar Synergy BT Rep: Bad Rep
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,360
    If he took out his primary drive, would the jumpers on the back of the secondary have to be changed to primary, or would the pc realize there was only one drive ?

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Quote Originally Posted by RPerry
    If he took out his primary drive, would the jumpers on the back of the secondary have to be changed to primary, or would the pc realize there was only one drive ?
    He said he removed the slave.
    my primary slave hdd

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Virtualbody1234
    What's wrong with the drive?

    I ask because you say you formatted it.
    I tested it online at seagate.com and reported bad sectors and as still under warranty have to send it back.Not happy as 2nd time had to send drive back to them and i bought it brand new.

    Thanks VB,will try what you said to do and also thanks for answer in topic i posted few weeks ago,you were right about the mx440 vid card,i replaced it and installed xp first time no worries.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    RPerry's Avatar Synergy BT Rep: Bad Rep
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, North Carolina
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,360
    ermm, ok. bad reading and more coffee for me.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    How many bad sectors? Most drives do have a few bad sectors, unless it's a lot of them then don't waste your time.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco_2004
    How many bad sectors? Most drives do have a few bad sectors, unless it's a lot of them then don't waste your time.
    Alot of bad sectors causing too many problems.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    Did you get an RMA number from Seagate yet?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •