Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need a Batch file to Clear Norton Logs

  1. #1
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    Norton Security keeps logs of all surfing activities even if you clean your web cache history.
    i have a feeling this info gets sent to norton when you update.
    It is an annoying process to clean them thru norton (even if there is a feature saying "disable logging" (which you have to turn on every time you reboot)
    I manually clik the update.
    so....

    the logs are kept here (theyre all ..log)

    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Symantec\Norton Internet Security\Log


    i cant seem to get the batch file right so it deletes them

    Code:
      del C:\docume~1\All Us~1\Applic~1\Symant~1\Norton~1\Log\*.*
    ???

    OR?

    Code:
      @echo on
       c:
       cd \
       cd docume~1\All Us~1\Applic~1\
       rd /s/q Symant~1\Norton~1\Log
    ???

    both these dont work....

    Also since the norton services are running you cant delete them unless you turn off the processes so i think a batch file looking like this would work (after the initial delete .logs batch is worked out)
    _________________________
    Code:
       NET STOP "Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service"
       
       NET STOP "Symantec Event Manager"
       
       NET STOP "Norton Internet Security Accounts Manager"
       
       >>>>batch section which deletes the .logs in: 
       C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Symantec\Norton Internet Security\Log<<<<
       
       NET START "Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service"
       
       NET START "Symantec Event Manager"
       
       NET START "Norton Internet Security Accounts Manager"
    __________________________________
    does that look feasable?
    What would be great is that after running the batch it then automatically does the update......

    If someone knows how to write the delete logs batch correctly it would be great.
    Or maybe there is a simpler way
    any advice?

    thanks

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Vargas's Avatar gone fishin'
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    the poopdeck
    Posts
    1,937
    well i can't format it in the reply box so see attatched
    BTW if you try that command from the command line instead of from a bat file you need to change the %%a to %a
    Last edited by Vargas; 10-27-2004 at 04:54 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    Thankyou Vargas - that definetly looks like its supposed to be written

    I love the %%a workaround - will definetly be using that in my other batchs

    the simplest are always the best

    Sorry i canot test it right now as im on someone elses machine, will check later - uif there is an error ill reply

    thankyou

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    Uh Oh - i just implemented your batch file and it isnt working...........
    i put in both just to see what happens - after killing the norton services -
    it doesnt delete them
    yet
    i can still right clik delete each .log file manually.....
    this is what the batch looks like
    ------------------------------------
    NET STOP "Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service"

    NET STOP "Symantec Event Manager"

    NET STOP "Norton Internet Security Accounts Manager"

    for %%a in (C:\docume~1\Alluse~1\Applic~1\Symant~1\Norton~1\Log\*.*) do del %%a

    del C:\docume~1\Alluse~1\Applic~1\Symant~1\Norton~1\Log\*.*

    NET START "Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service"

    NET START "Symantec Event Manager"

    NET START "Norton Internet Security Accounts Manager"
    _____________________________


    am i doing something wrong or.........

    can u see the problem?
    Last edited by 100%; 10-28-2004 at 01:31 PM.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Vargas's Avatar gone fishin'
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    the poopdeck
    Posts
    1,937
    no idea, it worked here when i tested it.
    maybe your ~1 should be ~2?
    try this:
    create a bat file with the command del *.log
    and place it in your log folder, then copy a SHORTCUT of it to your desktop, or wherever. then on the shortcuts properties, make sure the start in folder points to your log folder.

    EDIT: you should also add a PAUSE command above and below the del command so you can read any error messages you might be getting, on your bigger bat file.
    i dont have norton, so i don't know about it, but you say the commands net stop shut it down?
    Last edited by Vargas; 10-28-2004 at 02:06 PM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    ok thanx i got this off another guy and it works

    del /q "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Symantec\Norton Internet Security\Log\*.*"

    i cut down the symantec services to see which ones are really needed to delete the logs
    so this is how it looks like
    -----------------------------------------------------
    NET STOP "Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service"

    NET STOP "Symantec Event Manager"

    del /q "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Symantec\Norton Internet Security\Log\*.*"

    NET START "Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service"

    NET START "Symantec Event Manager"
    ----------------------------------------------------

    one more question

    after it cleans the logs
    how do i get it to run the Liveupdate immediatly afterwards?

    The liveupdate program is in here:
    C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate
    the application is called :
    1.Settings.Default.LiveUpdate
    (there is no extension)

    Thanks again

    the @PAUSE is useful cheers

    About the NET STOP and NET START trick ill post a thread about it tomorrow - dont have it with me but basically you have to use the actual Service "name" in services and you can kill any process - found a batch which kills as many processes as possible so you can have a really raw system if you need to do some hardcore application (or gamingetc)
    Last edited by 100%; 10-28-2004 at 03:59 PM.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Vargas's Avatar gone fishin'
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    the poopdeck
    Posts
    1,937
    try
    start "C:\Program Files\Symantec\LiveUpdate\1.Settings.Default.LiveUpdate"

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    100%'s Avatar ╚════╩═╬════╝
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    13,671
    perfect vargas - you are a genius
    cheers

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    That is weird, i went to that directory, and there is no logs of my online activity. Only these weird files that when i tried to open them in Notepad, my computer froze up for a half and hour, and then my entire page file was being used up, and the processor was going to explode. I was forced to restart. Why jesus, why.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •