Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Connection problems

  1. #1
    DanB's Avatar Smoke weed everyday
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, so fuck y'all
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,104
    I can't connect to the board normally, it tells me it keeps timing out.

    I have done some investigating and its this server here that is the cuplprit.
    139.67-19-33.reverse.theplanet.com
    IP Address: 67.19.33.139
    Location: Dallas (32.789N, 96.800W)
    Network: NETBLK-THEPLANET-BLK-11


    This happend to me again 10 days ago and I had to use a proxy for a week before I could coinnect and have had to do the same today.

    Whats up? Anyone else having problems?

  2. Everything Related to the Board   -   #2
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    No problems here. Are you using some sort of address blocker? It is not unknown for people to maliciously send good addresses to the people who maintain them.

    Instead of using a proxy, why don't you put the IP address and name into your hosts file? That will be far quicker, easier too.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  3. Everything Related to the Board   -   #3
    DanB's Avatar Smoke weed everyday
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, so fuck y'all
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,104
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    No problems here. Are you using some sort of address blocker? It is not unknown for people to maliciously send good addresses to the people who maintain them.

    Instead of using a proxy, why don't you put the IP address and name into your hosts file? That will be far quicker, easier too.

    What do i put where?

    I have no address blocking stuff on, it was working fine, then I pressed refresh and it was broke

  4. Everything Related to the Board   -   #4
    BawA's Avatar FST Pioneer BT Rep: +1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Some Where but not here
    Age
    35
    Posts
    4,541
    i get excatly same problem once in a while, if u search on this section i had many complenets of this kind


    "You can be mad as a mad dog at the way things went; you can swear and curse the fates, but when it comes to the end, you have to let go"
    Benjamen button

  5. Everything Related to the Board   -   #5
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    you need the line

    67.19.33.139 filesharingtalk.com

    in your hosts file.

    Assuming you are running XP the hosts file is located in
    c:\<windows dir>/system32/etc/drivers

    If you've already got one, simply use notepad to add that line.
    If you haven't got one then notepad will probably call it "hosts.txt", you need to remove the ".txt" bit from the filename.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  6. Everything Related to the Board   -   #6
    DanB's Avatar Smoke weed everyday
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, so fuck y'all
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,104
    the one that says Hosts.bak?

  7. Everything Related to the Board   -   #7
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    No, that sounds like an old copy.

    It is literally just called "hosts", no extensions or anything like that.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  8. Everything Related to the Board   -   #8
    DanB's Avatar Smoke weed everyday
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    London, so fuck y'all
    Age
    38
    Posts
    22,104
    Quote Originally Posted by lynx
    No, that sounds like an old copy.

    It is literally just called "hosts", no extensions or anything like that.

    Okay, I changed the extension so it was just called HOSTS but it isn't making a difference, still just getting the timeouts

    And then I removed it and created just a new one with that adress in it and its just the same. Thanks for trying though Lynx
    Last edited by DanB; 10-31-2004 at 03:27 PM.

  9. Everything Related to the Board   -   #9
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Strange.
    Was there anything else in that file?
    Edit: ok, ignore that bit.

    Mind you, this reminds me of a problem I was having a few weeks ago, I couldn't get through to a couple of random US sites, but no-one else seemed to have any problems. Like you, I could get through via a proxy.

    Just blame the CIA, FBI, RIAA, or anyone else you care to think of.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

  10. Everything Related to the Board   -   #10
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by DanB
    Okay, I changed the extension so it was just called HOSTS but it isn't making a difference, still just getting the timeouts

    And then I removed it and created just a new one with that adress in it and its just the same. Thanks for trying though Lynx
    is it like that with all computers in your flat or just yours?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •