Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: CD Ripping Software

  1. #1
    Superannuated
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    276
    I suppose this can also go in Musicworld, but I think this is a more appropriate place, because of the problems I am having.

    This is in regards to dbpoweramp: I dont know who uses what and who prefers what to rip cds, but I just noticed, after getting a new cd from a friend of his band, I ripped first using the mp3 option, which I suppose with internally make it a wav then automatically go to mp3. I have done this for all my rips up until now. I was told to make them wav first then compress the wav.

    So, I have two issues:

    The first is this: I have ripped in the past using dbpoweramp and I have ended up with rips that have a number of tracks which contain pops and clicks and squeels.

    The second issue is related to what I said in the second paragraph about my friend's cd. I ripped it directly to wav... then compressed it to VBR at 224-256. I compared one track, both the mp3 and wav... and noticed a marked difference in the sound of the tracks. The mp3 was actually very distorted compared to the original. The wav of course sounded like the source cd.

    Any ideas on this? I was thinking it could be dbpoweramp.
    "Maybe this world is another planet's Hell." - Aldous Huxley (1894-1963)

    "Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."
    - Napoleon Bonaparte (1769-1821)

    "Where a calculator on the ENIAC is equipped with 18,000 vacuum tubes
    and weighs 30 tons, computers in the future may have only 1,000
    vaccuum tubes and perhaps weigh 1.5 tons."

    - Unknown

    "The difference between pornography and erotica is lighting."
    - Gloria Leonard

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Could be time for a new pc also...

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    Superannuated
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    276
    Quote Originally Posted by RealitY
    Could be time for a new pc also...

    STFU ... I think you are jealous that I have a 386 with Windows for Workgroups. You wish you were that rich!!!!!


    So, anyway I would like some "REAL" people to respond... not just people with "real" in their name... because we all know reality is just a state of mind.... and a mind with reality is like drugs... ummm reality sucks, thats what I meant to say!!! YEAH YEAH!!

    But really, anyone have any ideas?
    "Maybe this world is another planet's Hell." - Aldous Huxley (1894-1963)

    "Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."
    - Napoleon Bonaparte (1769-1821)

    "Where a calculator on the ENIAC is equipped with 18,000 vacuum tubes
    and weighs 30 tons, computers in the future may have only 1,000
    vaccuum tubes and perhaps weigh 1.5 tons."

    - Unknown

    "The difference between pornography and erotica is lighting."
    - Gloria Leonard

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Actually even though I used the smileys in an attempt not to offend you I was quite serious...

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    couple of things you can try....
    first:
    when you installed db...
    there is an option to have "professional frequency conversion"
    did you check that option?
    (if you didnt, browse through the options, you should still be able to enable it)
    second:
    do you have an ASPI layer installed?
    if not, go here and get it fkr
    (get this version, not adaptec's updated version, because we all know you have an 86 MHz CPU runnin windows 3.1 )
    third:
    if you have dbv9, try v10, if you have v10, go back to v9, cant hurt to try
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Use "Exact Audio Copy" it works wonders. I've never had it make a mistake for me.

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    fkdup74's Avatar Pneuberator.
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    3,616
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco_2004
    Use "Exact Audio Copy" it works wonders. I've never had it make a mistake for me.
    yeah, it's nice, but MM would be too damned lazy for EAC



    actually, (and oh man i am gonna hate myself for saying this...),
    my brother went experimental on me, and did a rip with WMP10....and....
    (get ready to kick the f**k outta me)
    it didnt sound bad at all
    *fkdup ready to recieve kick in the ass...
    Last edited by FKDUP74; 11-04-2004 at 04:23 PM.
    I am just a worthless liar. I am just an imbecile.
    I will only complicate you. Trust in me and fall as well.
    I will find a center in you. I will chew it up and leave.
    I will work to elevate you just enough to bring you down.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    Afronaut's Avatar Xenu
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Teegeeack
    Posts
    3,799
    You got the Wavelab 5? (get good plugins for it ---> waves diamond bundle)

    I dont rip with that, but it's an excellent software to make mp3's out of wav's.
    I think the version 5 probably supports the "importing tags from the net/database" too,
    but im not sure, I do make mp3's with that of my songs.
    It has the Lame and all...

    Spoiler: Show

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    orcutt989's Avatar Blargh
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    States
    Posts
    2,227
    DbPoweramp works good, and my cousin used MusicMatch ripper for a while.

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Superannuated
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    276
    Quote Originally Posted by RealitY
    Actually even though I used the smileys in an attempt not to offend you I was quite serious...

    You my friend can hardly offend me... even if you tried. You do frustrate me sometimes.. but not offend. You are too cool that way. However, regarding the new computer thing, I am not quite sure if my pc is that old. I mean 4 years yeah!! because shit changes, granted, but it shouldnt affect the ripping ability. But if you can expand on this... fill me in.

    Thanks.
    "Maybe this world is another planet's Hell." - Aldous Huxley (1894-1963)

    "Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."
    - Napoleon Bonaparte (1769-1821)

    "Where a calculator on the ENIAC is equipped with 18,000 vacuum tubes
    and weighs 30 tons, computers in the future may have only 1,000
    vaccuum tubes and perhaps weigh 1.5 tons."

    - Unknown

    "The difference between pornography and erotica is lighting."
    - Gloria Leonard

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •