Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Please help - can't move or anything

  1. #1
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,947
    My computer had been playing up for a while now so I
    formated the c drive and reinstalled winXP Home And now that it's installed,

    everything is stuttering, I can barely move up and down on an interweb page or folder
    I can't get into my task manager, when I open it it closes straight away, I can just
    about see it as it flashes up and then goes. I can barely move or do anything, this
    message might not even reach the board. Also I there's spyware on the machine
    as I'm getting pop ups saying to go to this site to get rid of them ect and there's some
    listed under the program files but I can't delete them becasue they're in use and I can't
    get into task manager - I've basically be pwnd

    Any ideas on what's happened and what will fix it? I tried getting avg but the instelation
    just goes away half way through.

    It's pointless giving links to sites,
    chances are I can't see them

    excues the spelling, I can't spell and got nothing to check it with

    it's taken over 30mins to post this

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    try booting up in safe mode (keep tapping f8 while comp boots up). Hopefully you'll have more control of your computer and you'll be able to delete stuff.
    Check you've installed graphics card drivers otherwise scrolling and things like that are often really slow and jerky.
    Install avg if possible in safe mode, or do an online scan (check the antivirus topic in the tips section for places to get a scan).
    Install spybot search and destroy and do a scan, (there may be places you can do an online scan for spyware, but i don't know any off the top of my head).

    You can stop some things from starting by either getting a registry editor (if anyone knows a good one please suggest, i just use an old one that probably isn't even available anymore), or by going
    Start -> Run -> type msconfig
    and selecting in the options what you want to run on startup.

    Hope something there helps
    Last edited by ilw; 11-04-2004 at 10:55 PM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    scan for viruses and spyware.

    isntall video drivers too.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Izagaia's Avatar Her angel of darkness
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Beyond midnight, near you, in darkness...
    Age
    46
    Posts
    709
    Many pre-SP1 XP systems get hit with malwares as they are first connecting to the internet to download updates from Microsoft. Or when they associate/create/configure their .netpassports for Messenger.

    If this is the case, then you may want to attempt searching for a version of XP Home that has SP1 or SP2 streamlined into it.

    If that is not the case and you still are having problems then I would have to believe that your woes go deeper than just just drivers or viruses. I would start looking at the hardware itself. XP's pre-installed drivers should be plenty adequate to make your system functional until you can find the specific ones you need.

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    peat moss's Avatar Software Farmer BT Rep: +15BT Rep +15BT Rep +15
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Delta B.C. Canada
    Posts
    10,816
    Quote Originally Posted by Izagaia
    Many pre-SP1 XP systems get hit with malwares as they are first connecting to the internet to download updates from Microsoft. Or when they associate/create/configure their .netpassports for Messenger.

    If this is the case, then you may want to attempt searching for a version of XP Home that has SP1 or SP2 streamlined into it.

    If that is not the case and you still are having problems then I would have to believe that your woes go deeper than just just drivers or viruses. I would start looking at the hardware itself. XP's pre-installed drivers should be plenty adequate to make your system functional until you can find the specific ones you need.

    Ya you have to have an anti virus and firewall installed even with sp1. Then update windows for critical packages. I hear from my friends about their woes all the time ,after formatting then trying to access the net. Thats after a give them a slipstreamed xp disk . [sp1] I allways tell them to disable messenger service aswell.
    Last edited by peat moss; 11-05-2004 at 01:17 AM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,947
    I'm on my old 98 machine now so I can move about

    Right, when I tap F8 on the boot up It just asks me where I'd like to boot from? I chose the WinXP disk and was gonna format again to see if it would make a difference but when It finished loading all the hardware, it said ohci1394.sys is corrupt, then it says that it's failed and to press any key to restart. This just happens again and again

    What is the file that's corrupt? Is it a windows file and can I format with out windows?


    Also, If I switched to something lke Linux, would it solve all my problems?

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    367
    If you can still download, here's some stuff to try.
    If you can't, try downloading to another pc and transfering it.


    To use instead of taskmanager, download Process Explorer
    After you end process on some of the bad files, try and online scan.

    Panda's Active Scan
    http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/co...n_principal.htm

    Trend Micro (PC-cillin) - Free on-line Scan
    http://housecall.antivirus.com

    RAV Antivirus Online Scan
    http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/

    eTrust AV web scanner (Computer Associates)
    http://www3.ca.com/virusinfo/virusscan.aspx


    If you can't get the online scan to run, download Stinger and run it while in safemode.

    You can also try uninstalling bad programs that are listed in add/remove programs while in safemode.


    Download hijackthis and post a log . Don't fix anything with it yet, most of the stuff listed is needed.

    Download from one of these locations:
    http://tools.radiosplace.com/HijackThis.exe
    http://www.downloads.subratam.org/hijackthis.zip
    http://spywarewarrior.com/files/HijackThis.exe

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    HCT's Avatar WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    charlotte, nc
    Age
    29
    Posts
    514
    Quote Originally Posted by Arcadia
    I'm on my old 98 machine now so I can move about

    Right, when I tap F8 on the boot up It just asks me where I'd like to boot from? I chose the WinXP disk and was gonna format again to see if it would make a difference but when It finished loading all the hardware, it said ohci1394.sys is corrupt, then it says that it's failed and to press any key to restart. This just happens again and again

    What is the file that's corrupt? Is it a windows file and can I format with out windows?


    Also, If I switched to something lke Linux, would it solve all my problems?
    Use KillDisk to reformat with out using the winxp disk

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Mr. Mulder's Avatar pepper your angus BT Rep: +10BT Rep +10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Vault 111
    Age
    31
    Posts
    30,947
    @Jg427, Thanks for all those links but I can't really view any web pages now, barely anything shows up and downloads quit halfway through instelation


    @HCT, thanks,I'll try that KillDisk




    What I'd like to know Is once I've formated the drive, would it then be safe to install a version of Linux?

    I've got one rewritter to share between the two comps so would it be as simple as d/l Linux, burning to disk and useing it as a boot disk? (does the same go for KillDisk?)

    (Also, which distro's best for noobs and is it legit free or a p2p job?)

    Had it with Windows now!

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    Virtualbody1234's Avatar Forum Star BT Rep: +2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11,497
    It sounds like you need to install the graphics card drivers.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •