Your Ad Here Your Ad Here
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: power up a mobo with no processor

  1. #1
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    what would happen if you took the processor off a mobo, and powered it up? anything? I mean, would the bios still boot up on the screen, or would it just sit there, blank screen, no nothing.. Im curious because i got a new mobo for an athlon that i have, but when i power it up, not a damn thing happens. the keyboard lights blink once, and thats it. when you press the numlock key, the light dont come on. I have a hard time thinking that the mobo is bad. I wonder if the processor is shot. what do you think? how can i tell which one is bad (mobo or processor)?
    Last edited by McrslV; 11-07-2004 at 12:19 AM.

  2. Software & Hardware   -   #2
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    i vote for blank screen

    dont you have another system to check your athlon? its kinda hard to tell which is bad...i had a mobo installed w/o a cpu a couple days ago, and when i press the power button, i hear the power supply going, the fans were working...just that nothing appears..and it shouldnt. But i was not able to turn it off w/o pulling out the cord. soooo if you have the cpu and mobo, but you dont see anything working...i say its the cpu
    Last edited by Mr. Elmo; 11-07-2004 at 03:30 AM.

  3. Software & Hardware   -   #3
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    you'd get a blank screen. OR nothing would happen when u press the button.

  4. Software & Hardware   -   #4
    Duffman's Avatar Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,130
    stop changing your avatar!!!
    ...

  5. Software & Hardware   -   #5
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Duffman3
    stop changing your avatar!!!
    wait, what avatar...i dont see any avatar

    holy shit...i just notice i had 770+ post...i dont even post that much
    Last edited by Mr. Elmo; 11-07-2004 at 03:58 AM.

  6. Software & Hardware   -   #6
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Duffman3
    stop changing your avatar!!!

  7. Software & Hardware   -   #7
    tesco's Avatar woowoo
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    24,069
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Elmo
    wait, what avatar...i dont see any avatar

    holy shit...i just notice i had 770+ post...i dont even post that much
    nice.

    usercp>edit option> somewhere in there enable viewing of sigs and avatars.

  8. Software & Hardware   -   #8
    McrslV's Avatar Hammer Smashed Face
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    who me?
    Age
    45
    Posts
    1,650
    i wish i had another processor to try out, but i dont (i have all intel stuff except this one pc) I guess i could always buy a new processor, they are only 40 bucks on new egg for a 1.3ghz............hmm...I hate when things dont just work right..............its always something. but then again, all my intel stuff works perfectly, so whats that tell ya......
    Last edited by McrslV; 11-07-2004 at 04:05 AM.

  9. Software & Hardware   -   #9
    Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,042
    Quote Originally Posted by rossco_2004
    nice.

    usercp>edit option> somewhere in there enable viewing of sigs and avatars.
    AAAAHHAAAA found it. i like your old avatar better

  10. Software & Hardware   -   #10
    lynx's Avatar .
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    9,810
    Quote Originally Posted by McrslV
    i wish i had another processor to try out, but i dont (i have all intel stuff except this one pc) I guess i could always buy a new processor, they are only 40 bucks on new egg for a 1.3ghz............hmm...I hate when things dont just work right..............its always something. but then again, all my intel stuff works perfectly, so whats that tell ya......
    Never had an AMD processor fail on me yet, wish I could say the same for Intel. These days, cpu chip failure is usually down to overheating, bad handling (such as crushed core), or consequential failure because of breakdown on the motherboard or power supply etc.

    Don't you have any friends


























    with AMD based systems?

    Has this system EVER worked? If so, what were the symptoms when it stopped working?

    Why would you "have a hard time thinking that the mobo is bad"? I've seen plenty of blown mobo's, and the same people make mobo's for AMD and Intel so the failure rate is about in proportion to chip sales.
    Last edited by lynx; 11-07-2004 at 10:39 AM.
    .
    Political correctness is based on the principle that it's possible to pick up a turd by the clean end.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •